We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Townsend Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Townsend Hotel to your Saves list
The Townsend Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Townsend St., Birmingham, MI 48009   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birmingham
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

Townsend was a great place to stay for our anniversary. It is walking distance to shopping, dining, and theaters. Friendly staff. Luxury rooms. Worth thevprice.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    52
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
27
74
6
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

For business, I get to stay at this hotel once or twice a year. Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel, but the rooms are nothing spectacular, and not worth the extra cost. It also amazes me that with all you're paying, you don't get free internet. I stay at the Baymont hotel at the Detroit airport all of the time, and I pay $50 and I get free internet. Go figure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We oly live 30 minutes away but it felt llike we were miles away. The room and bed were suberb. We ate dinner in the restaruant and it was great. Love, love the Christmas decorations and alos the warm ambiance of the hotel itself. First class all the way!!

Room Tip: pick a roonm facing north- by the police station. very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have been traveling to the Detroit area for business and staying at The Townsend for nearly 20 years. I love this hotel and always look forward to staying there. I am always welcomed by name by the friendly doormen and front desk staff who are professional, warm, and so accommodating. They aim to please and have wonderful manners. The staff is one of the reasons that it is by far the best hotel in the area. Many VIP's stay there...everyone from corporate execs to sports teams and rock stars. The hotel is traditional but not stuffy. It is sparkling clean. The public spaces are beautifully appointed with traditional furnishings, fresh flowers, fireplaces, marble, rich wood paneling and have the look of a grand English estate. It was decorated for the holidays and looked absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are also decorated in the English traditional manner with beautiful bedding and draperies, wonderful linens, marble baths, a comfy sitting chair and flat screen TV. Room service offerings are delicious and the Rugby Grill downstairs is a wonderful restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The suites feel like your own pied-a-terre with a living room and bedroom. Most have a little terrace. Ask for one overlooking the park. The only negative is that some of the rooms have windows overlooking an alley where the service entrance and dumpster is located. These rooms have very little natural light. Request that you not be given a room overlooking the service alley or you will be awakened by the beep beep of garbage trucks way too early. Sometimes the heat acts up and I have had to have them call engineering. Make sure that the heater is not blowing cold air. The staff will take care of it immediately. They won't let you suffer!

It's worth noting that Birmingham is a lovely little town with many great restaurants and shops within walking distance. The concierge staff is awesome and will help you with anything you need. There is a salon and a wonderful new Italian restaurant directly across the street from the front door. There is no other fine hotel that I know of in the Detroit area where you can get out and walk around the neighborhood like this. And a lovely neighborhood it is. I love it in all 4 seasons. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the service alley. the best views are of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Townsend Hotel in Birmingham, MI recently for our anniversary. We arrived around noon on a Saturday and were able to check in right away even though the hotel was obviously very busy with a charity tea and a local winter festival. The pleasant young woman at reception also recommended a nice tavern in town for lunch and for watching a game later in the evening. Because of the huge crowd for the charity tea, my wife and I had to take an elevator separate from that of the bell hop and our luggage, but we all arrived at our room at about the same time. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. Not sure when the hotel was last renovated, but probably is due for an update. Still, very nice though. Valet parking was convenient and reasonable, given the upscale location.

Room Tip: We took an inside room because that's all that was available for our early check in. It was wint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for your kind remarks in regards to you recent stay. We are delighted that you chose our hotel to celebrate your anniversary and we look forward to having you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I liked it very much. Away from the chaos, it seems like a small jewel in a nice oasis. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice location - I walked around the area and saw quite a few small boutiques and surprisingly high-quality restaurants and bars.

Beautiful lobby. Hotel feels exclusive and comfortable like home, at the same time. Would certainly come back if I am in this area again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Townsend. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and Birmingham. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We had to pleasure to visit family during the Thanksgiving holiday this year and booked a room at the Townsend Hotel for 4 nights. The Townsend is a fairly small hotel that is tucked away in a great location in downtown Birmingham. Birmingham is a cosmopolitan little town with upscale shopping and many types of restaurants to choose from.

Our check in was smooth but the suite that we had reserved wasn't ready due to the fact that we had arrived early in the day so we decided to take a regular room. We needed a roll away for our daughter and the regular room was able to accommodate us quite nicely. The room felt spacious and really clean. The drawback to this room (can't remember the room number) was that it was next to the weight room on the 3rd floor. We kept hearing a thump-thump-thump noise and figured that it was the guests using weight machines letting the weight stack fall after each rep. We decided that we could deal with the weight room noise but then that evening there was a wedding in the 'Salon' just below us and the music was at a fevered pitch around midnight. We'd had enough so we asked to be moved to another room. If you stay there during the week this most likely wouldn't be a problem but watch out on the weekends!

This room was in the older part of the hotel but equally as nice. Much quieter also! The bed is super comfy and the bathrooms are outfitted in marble. We ate breakfast at the Rugby Grill each morning. The food was good.....not extraordinary but good. All of the staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. We always had plenty of towels and the amenities that come with staying in such a nice hotel. Valet is $24 a night and worth it. The parking seemed to be at a premium in the city setting.

The speciality evening drink at the Rugby Grill is called 'the hummer'. If you like ice-cream with your liquor you'll like this one.

Overall: I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again. It's expensive but as long as you know that going in you'll be prepared.

Room Tip: Make sure you a far away from the Ballroom during the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsendresponse, Guest Relations Manager at The Townsend Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Townsend Hotel for your recent stay and for taking the time to post this great review. While we do apologize that you were effected by the events in the ballroom, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and time in Birmingham. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Townsend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townsend Hotel

Address: 100 Townsend St., Birmingham, MI 48009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Townsend Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townsend Hotel is a gem of European elegance, tucked away amidst the pleasing parks, sophisticated designer shops and nationally acclaimed art galleries of Birmingham.Exquisitely appointed Guest Rooms & Suites welcome you with fine furnishings, luxurious beds & linens, marble bathrooms, & the calm & privacy of a quiet suburban location. Our staff welcomes you with exceptional courtesy, a desire to serve, & genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Townsend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townsend Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.