We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rugby Grille

Rugby Grille
100 Townsend St, Birmingham, MI 48009
+1 248-642-5999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rugby Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 91 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: $30 - $58
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Family Fare, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pierce & Merrill
Description: The Rugby Grille is a world-class, unpretentious restaurant serving an array of creative appetizers, entrees and tempting desserts in a classical setting that makes for a true, one-of-a-kind dining experience. The Rugby Grille has been recognized with the following awards: The coveted AAA-Four Diamond award, and the Forbes Travel Guide "Recommended" rating and The Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence" for its wine program. From the moment you are greeted by our reception staff, to our Wine Spectator award-winning wine list, to the final satisfying dessert creations by our Pastry Chef, you can be certain that dining has been redefined. Relax in the traditional setting of the Grille room with its crisp white tablecloths complemented by fine silver and sparkling crystal wine glasses, enjoy the natural light in the Gallery, or dine al fresco on our seasonal patio. Our professional service staff will ensure you experience a defining level of attention and culinary creations. Executive Chef Drew Sayes and his skilled staff use only the freshest ingredients and best products to mastermind an array of flavors sure to delight every palate.
Sanibel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Food and service were excellent...the only problem was we were seated in the hallway! The hostess claimed that this was actually the "gallery" whatever that means. The bottom line was what would have been a very nice dinner was ruined by a high traffic table.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, MI
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Save your money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

There are SO many good restaurants in this area that I can't think why someone would spend so much money to eat here. I had heard so many good things and wanted to try the restaurant for a long time, and so we went during restaurant week. For $30 you got a small salad, entree and dessert. I am sure these items were not the same as on the regular menu. The salad was OK. Our entree was Lobster Tagliatelle: homemade pasta, Maine lobster, seasonal mushrooms, carmelized cipollini onions and "lobster essence" (not sure what that is). First off, I saw another patron with this dish who had not ordered off the special menu, and his entree was much larger. So what kind of deal are you getting for Restaurant Week they just skinny down the portions in order to feed you for $30? Next, there were no onions, unless they were so carmelized thyey evaporated. The mushrooms were so woody that I could not even cut them with a knife (and I am a mushroom fan). The waitress just said "oops, so sorry" when I complained about the muchrooms; no offer to fix the problem. The dessert was so-so; plating was nothing special. The meal did not come close to filing me up. I will not visit again. Food average and way overpriced.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Safe Bet, Classy Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Can't go wrong with the restaurant of the toniest hotel (Townsend) in the Oakland County! I've eaten here several times and the food and service are always consistently great.

The restaurant has a classic, upscale setting.

Great menu selection. The portion is just right, and always tasty - love Tuna, Salmon, Dover Sole...and the bread basket!

Attentive service.

Although i don't see explicit dress code for the restaurant, better to be a bit formal and nicely. Most customers are middle-age and plus, sophisticated connoisseurs...sometimes can be a little intimidating if you are casual 20-somethings.

Great for: business, dates, special occasions

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Haven't ever eaten a bad meal here! Fantastic food and service and the gazpacho and french onion soup are to die for!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan USA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“What went wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Rugby Grill is usually a highly-dependable source of good atmosphere and excellent food. Last time I was there, three of the four dinners arrived under conditions that made me suspect the cook forgot to turn on that Rugby grill. One lamp chop was essentially uncooked and two other entrees were at room temperature. They did reheat these and took the lamb off the bill. But someone needs to pay more attention to the name and get that grill turned on.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rugby Grille also viewed

 

Been to Rugby Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rugby Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.