We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fresh Fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mitchell's Fish Market

Mitchell's Fish Market
117 Willits St, Birmingham, MI 48009
(248) 646-3663
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mitchell's Fish Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 91 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Old Woodward
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Flown in everyday, amazing fish options. A little stuffy and upscale, but service is usually on point. Drinks are great and happy hour rocks.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    44
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice change!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great atmosphere, easy parking on a Sunday night with great service. The food was very fresh. Nothing that made me say...OMG, I have got to come back but no complaints.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Glad I did not listen to the other reviews, Wonderful Evening !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As the title states, some of the reviews about this place were not to flattering at all. I being a contributor on several review website , read the reviews and tend to lend creadence to a well written review. This is one of those times i glad I did not adhere.

We were celebrating our 34 wedding anniversary and we did not want anything elaborate, Just modestly priced and nice. We foud this at Mitchell's, The food was good, not over the Top, trying to make good food , "Fancy. " Here is something that impresses a lot of people, "The Rest Rooms" ,. There is no reason why a bathroom should not be clean, tidy, and refreshing.
this place met all of the above.
Our meal was simply good, which it should be , Good Food speaks for itself. Our Waitstaff was both, Entertaining and attentative, . We were impressed that the Manager came over to inquire about our evening. (Little Things , Go over Big) Again the Food Was GOOD !

I can't over emphasize this about the food , because the bottom line , at the end of the day that is all that matters at a restaurant.. Thank's to a co-worker ( P. J.) for this recommendation.
Yes, we would return again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“The Best Freshest Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love the atmostphere and the food was superb! My mother really enjoyed it and the serve was royal. I thought I was in Florida because the scallops were so fresh and large. The drinks are amazing and they were very friendly and have valet parking out front.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Food, service and location is great. The fish they serve is very fresh and service has been consistent. The drinks and desert are good too. Pine Fin Martini is good and so is the Creme Brûlée. If you like steaks then you can still order them from the next-door Cameron's steak house.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mitchell's Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Mitchell's Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitchell's Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.