We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would like to rate better than 'Very Good'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griffin Claw Brewing Company

Griffin Claw Brewing Company
575 S. Eton Street, Birmingham, MI 48009
248-7124050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 88 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: Bar, Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Kitchener, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Would like to rate better than 'Very Good'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Considering I have given "Excellent, 5 Star Ratings" to 5 Star restaurants and resorts, it feels awkward to give such a rating to a really cool pub, so I stuck with "Very Good."

This is a really cool, hip, brewery/pub located in the heart of suburbia.
I was in from out of town, brought here by a friend.
We visited on Sunday afternoon around 6pm. It was not crowded, but it was busy enough.
Very welcoming wait staff took the time to explain their food and drink.

You can choose traditional bar seating, open concept dining area or sheltered & unsheltered outdoor seating.

Pickles are quite spicy.
I had the Applewood Bacon Grilled Cheese and it was delicious.
I thought that the french fries I received were the tastiest I had had in a very, very long time. In fact, I could not remember having better tasting fries.
I joked with the waiter that a Chemist must have designed the fries to taste great and at the same time make you thirsty enough to order more beer in order to quench your thirst.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“BEER!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Watched a World Cup match here with a great crowd. Open air; no a/c; big fans; a little loud. Beer was great. There was a limited menu and I didn't eat, but other guys at the bar raved about the pulled pork and beef sliders. I shall return!

FYI - they are not open for lunch

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Found by surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We happened to be riding our bikes around Troy when we found Griffin Claw. They had an open patio and open windows which made us want to stop. The beers were excellent. I had the Michigan Cherry beer - delicious!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Came here with my girlfriend and friends while visiting friends in Royal Oak. Good food for a brewery, and the great beer selection. For food we ordered the Fish & Chips and Applewood Bacon Grilled Cheese sandwich.

Portions were really good and the fries were excellent! They also had TVs for sports and a really nice outdoor seating area. The atmosphere was really good for an outing with friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good beer and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We tried the deep fried pickle chips for our appetizer and they were very good. For our main course we had the pulled pork sandwich. The sandwich was just average. Smothered in barbecue sauce and layered with their version of coleslaw, I found it somewhat lacking. The french fries were the usual batter dipped variety, I only ate a few (why cant anyone make real french fries)?
The beer here is very good with the El Rojo being my favorite.
The service was top notch!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffin Claw Brewing Company also viewed

 
Birmingham, MI
Birmingham, MI
 

Been to Griffin Claw Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffin Claw Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.