We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed, could be good if they upgade it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35270 Woodward Avenue, Birmingham, MI 48009   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birmingham
West Coast, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unimpressed, could be good if they upgade it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel staff is nice and professional.
The rooms are clean.
This is a suburban hotel in a relatively decent area on a busy strip.

The hotel has some upgraded rooms, but you must really push to get one, and even those have crappy (old/soft) beds.

They have DVDs you can borrow for free, but not DVD players in each room.
Some rooms have old CRT TVs.

Breakfast has many choices (including bacon, eggs, pastries), but it didn't look too great, so we skipped.

Free Fitness Center. No pool.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    22
    14
    7
See reviews for
14
14
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

I had the pleasure of booking the Holiday Inn Express not knowing what to expect. I've stayed at HIE's in the past many times but was pleasantly surprised at the service (front desk personnel was great) and the comfort I felt with the place was exceptional.
I'd recommend this property to anyone on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Location, Location, Location. This hotel is perfectly located across from Birmingham restaurants and shops. It has ALL of the comforts of home with an OUTSTANDING staff- from front desk, to housekeeping, to management. Everyone goes OUT OF THEIR way to make you feel comfortable and cater to your every need. (I recently saw one of the Managers consoling a guest who had lost her mother and was in town for a funeral. The guest was not use to staying in a hotel, and the manager went to the drug store to get her some things to placate her. The hotel is, and always has been CLEAN. Would suggest to anyone traveling, whether on business or pleasure. Although I am always in town on business, this hotel would be the PERFECT location to stay for a weekend- wedding party, or simply a shopping trip! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

This is an older hotel that is not bothering to use AC in the hallways or elevators anymore. The rooms are quite tired looking. It's one of the few that still has older TV sets and boxy armoirs. That would not bother me so much as we need a convenient place to stay for the night in this location. But we were awakened by an alarm clock going off in an apparently empty adjacent room. We called the front desk and were told casually that "when housekeeping comes in they will check it out." When the alarm went off again this repeated. I clarified the statement of "when" to mean that until the housekeeping staff works their way around this area and IF they remember nobody will check this out. So, if you need anything while staying here forget it. Nobody at the front desk will care or do anything. And obviously no follow through.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixbirmingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and I am very sorry and disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during this trip. The issue with the alarm clock going off was not treated properly and we apologize for this inconvenience. This is an unusual occurrence, and I can personally assure you that the staff has been informed of this so the same mistake will not be made in the future. I sincerely hope that if you ever do decide to stay in Birmingham again, you will give our hotel another chance to show you just how comfortable our hotel can be. Again, we regret that your stay wasn’t everything you expected, and if there is ever a problem in the future, please don’t hesitate to contact management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

I stayed for one night for business. When I returned home I realized I came home with more than I went in with. I brought home bed bugs! Next to impossible to get rid of. What a nightmare! Never again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hixbirmingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, responded to this review, August 6, 2010
Dear Guest,
I am so sorry to hear about your recent experience with bedbugs. This must have been an extremely difficult situation. However, I can assure you that our hotel does not have a bed bug infestation. The building is sprayed for bugs seasonally, and each room is thoroughly cleaned daily by our experienced housekeepers. Your review was the first report of any sort of bedbug our hotel has ever seen. We take these issues very seriously, and upon hearing this complaint each room was carefully inspected. Again I am sorry that you somehow obtained bedbugs, but I would like to assure you that they were not from our hotel. I urge you in the future to contact our management with any concerns that you may have so that they may be taken care of in a timely and appropriate manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

If you need a firm and supportive mattress for a good night's sleep, or if you have any back trouble, this is not the hotel to stay at. The mattresses are old, too soft, and mushy. We had two different rooms and found the same situation in both rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is an older building but appears to be well kept. The full hot breakfast was very nice. The location was great - a short walk from the center of Birmingham. They had a nice selection of DVD's to check out at a very reasonable price ($2.50). The staff were exceptionally friendly people - really a pleasant surprise given the economic situation in Detroit. (Maybe they were all just so happy to have jobs.) The beds were a bit on the soft side but are apparently scheduled for replacement.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham

Address: 35270 Woodward Avenue, Birmingham, MI 48009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham! We will be undergoing a full renovation, beginning in January 2014. Our guest rooms will be updated, as well as our lobby and other common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express-Birmingham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.