We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9235 E. Birch Run Road, I-75 Exit 136E, Birch Run, MI 48415 (Formerly Super 8 Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
CANADA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My two daughters and I stayed here Nov. 15. $125.00 a night for 2 queen bed room. The floor was disgusting, I didn't want to take my shoes off. We left our socks on the whole time. There were all kinds of stains everywhere. The sheets were scratchy and we were afraid of bed bugs but we did check the bed first. We did not partake in the complimentary breakfast but heard from others that it wasn't that good. We were not in the main building which is fine. The walls are very thin, heard everything in the next room and hallway. Won't be staying here again. The next night we stayed at the Best Western which was 100% better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI48415, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you felt you experienced with us. There is never an excuse for providing anything less than great service. All claims against this property will be further investigated and corrected where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    57
    34
    14
    7
See reviews for
48
45
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 night because I wasn't willing to pay $175/night to stay IN Frankenmuth. ABVI was much more affordable, and only a couple minute drive. Room had a fridge/microwave which I happy to see.

The staff was very helpful. We showed up an couple hours early and the lady at the front desk made a point to go ask someone in housekeeping which rooms were already clean so we could check in early.

The room was VERY clean. Probably one of the cleanest hotel rooms I have ever seen. Very much appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI48415, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do our best to read every message. It is always rewarding to our team here at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites of Birch Run to know we've made our guests' stay very special. We appreciate your business and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were quite impressed with this Hotel. Yes, it is older but completely adequate for an overnight stay while shopping at Birch Run and trip to Frankenmuth.
I was kind of concerned after reading some of the reviews but if you aren't super picky about things like art on the walls and big closets, it is fine.
It was very clean, fresh sheets on the bed and very quiet at night.
The desk clerk was very helpful and friendly. At first we were given a room, not in the Main Building, which was fine. Except when we got up there we could hear the people in the room next to ours making a ton of noise. So we went downstairs and asked to be moved. Not a problem. As a result we got a nice room in the Main Building away from the loud people and had a great quiet evening. The road noise wasn't an issue either.
The bathroom is a bit small but you aren't paying a huge price to stay there so you cope with it. I would rather have clean and quiet than a big bathroom.
I researched every hotel in the area and this was one of the most cost efficient I could find. We could have paid more at another hotel but I wanted to keep my money for shopping. Plus, there is never any guarantee those expensive places are going to be quiet and without issues. Read the reviews, someone always has a problem no matter how pricey the place.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI48415, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do our best to read every message. It is always rewarding to our team here at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites of Birch Run to know we've made our guests' stay very special. We appreciate your business and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently spent a night with friends at this hotel. We were supposed to camp in Frankenmuth, but got rained out. This hotel offered the best rate in town at $94, but was very utilitarian for the price.

The hotel staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in an hour prior to check-in time. They also allowed us to use their locked breakfast room to play cards in the evening. So, high marks to the staff.

We had a queen bed room. The room did have a fridge and microwave, but little other amenities. The bed was rather squished against a wall, and there was a lot of floor space. There is no provision for a place to put a suitcase other than on the floor. A folding rack would have been nice. There is no closet, but there is a shelf with a bar and a few hangers in one corner of the room. The bathroom is extremely small with a small mirror, so two people cannot get ready at the same time. Also, there are no towel bars in the bathroom.

The decor is very dated with burgundy carpet and white walls. The art is of poor quality and sparsely placed around the room. The linens were crisp and clean, and the bed was comfortable.

The complimentary breakfast offered toast, bagels, cereal and donuts. The donuts were from a local bakery and were very good. Coffee, tea and juice were also included. Many chains in this price range offer a hot breakfast - so the breakfast was somewhat disappointing.

There is no indoor pool, but there is an indoor hot tub and sauna. However, the hot tub seats about 10 people, so on a weekend, it is overcrowded. Finally, there are two separate buildings, so I recommend asking for a room in the main building so you don't have to walk across the parking lot to access the breakfast room or hot tub. This is a very average hotel, and I will try another hotel in the area for my next visit.

Room Tip: Be sure to request the main building. If stairs a not an issue, I recommend a second floor room bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI48415, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you felt you experienced with us. There is never an excuse for providing anything less than great service. All claims against this property will be further investigated and corrected where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel last week during a trip to Frankenmuth, MI. Very clean, comfortable and the staff was more than pleasant. We had a handicapped kitchenette room with 2 queen beds - this room was SO large and comfortable that it may spoil me for future 'affordable' hotel stays! I used both the sauna and the hottub - again, very clean, very user friendly, and the staff was terrific!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI48415, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking your time and providing us your feedback. It is very awarding to the staff to know they made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this location for a few nights. It is a good location if you are looking to visit the outlet mall and Frankenmuth. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. They have a computer with internet access in the lobby and lots of information about the surrounding area. The continental breakfast is adequate. For the price this place is a great option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI48415, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to fill out our survey. We are glad to hear your stay was comfortable for you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Arrived in the middle of the night, front desk agent was very nice and helpful. Was offered late check out since it was after 3am arrival.
Didn't have a chance to experience the breakfast but it was included.
Rooms could use a bit of an update, and possible new AC units as they are old and very loud!! A phone upgrade is also necessary as mine was very crackly and was unable to have a conversation. Rooms were very clean though.
Was in 200 block and the outside door stated that you needed your room key to enter after 11pm however the key was not necessary to open the door. Something should definitely be done about that!
Front desk day staff were very friendly and helpful as well!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI48415, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our survey. We are glad to hear over all your stay was enjoyable. We will be looking in to the concerns you mentioned. Your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 9235 E. Birch Run Road, I-75 Exit 136E, Birch Run, MI 48415 (Formerly Super 8 Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Birch Run
Super 8 Birch Run
Super Eight Birch Run
Birch Run Super 8
Birch Run Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.