We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly service, decent breakfast, uncomfortable bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   12150 Dixie Hwy., Birch Run, MI 48415   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
London, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly service, decent breakfast, uncomfortable bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The kind of breakfast offered at many American hotels is pretty standard now, but really quite adequate. Bagels, cheese, fruit, yoghurt (far too sweet), pastries (far too sweet), toast, juice, coffee, scary-looking eggs and sausage. But it's included, and really fairly decent.

Friendly staff, nice pool, and a very hard bed with bad pillows. Otherwise, pretty fair, and only about a kilometre from the big Birch Run outlet stores.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear RickKitto,

First let me thank you for your most recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay. I apologize for the bed not being as comfortable as preferred, We continually change and flip mattresses so that the life and padding lasts longer, but again I apologize that it was not comfortable for your stay. On another note, I am pleased to hear that the room cleanliness was satisfactory and our employees were friendly and helpful. Feedback is critical to our daily operations, I would like to thank you for your feedback. We take all feedback into consideration while making decisions on future changes.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    70
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
65
53
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights very nice and clean , pool was nice heated, whirlpool in room was really nice. Enjoyed going to Frankenmuth. Breakfast was excellent had a big variety. Beds were very comfortable very clean, hotel was really quiet. If I ever come back to this area I will definitely look at staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your most recent stay with us. As feedback is critical to continual improvement of our daily operations, we are ecstatic to hear that your stay with us was very nice. We hope to see you again in the future and thank you again for such positive feedback.

Thank you, Stephanie, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is very convenient to I-75 and 10-15 mins to Frankenmuth. We stayed one night and got a $142 AAA rate for a king jacuzzi room which also had a refrig. and microwave.. The girls were very friendly and welcoming at check-in and the room was clean and tidy. The hotel appears to be newer and is well maintained. Our only disappointments were the noisy brats running up and down the halls (more of a lack of parenting than the Hotel) and the carpet in the room could use a cleaning. Overall- I'd stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear tstacy218,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback as this helps us continue to grow and improve. We are pleased to hear that your overall experience was great and are sorry to hear about the noise complaint. Our hotel staff will try to alleviate these types of situations by monitoring the hallways and addressing the situation as soon as a problem arises.

Thank you for the positive and constructive feedback as this will help us improve for guests (such as yourself) in the future.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The gentleman that greeted my upon arrival was very freindly.

We stayed on the second floor in the middle of the hotel right by the Ice Machine and Elevator. The room was nice, clean, and big enough. Beds were comfortable but a bit firm. It was nice having a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Everything in the room was average and we had no complaints about the actual room or service.

The only complaint that I do have is the location of the room. Being right by the ice machine was annoying and I should of went back down to request a different room. The second floor middle ice machine has to be the noisiest ice machine I've ever encountered. When dispensing Ice it made a large thug like someone is smacking it with a hammer. I used the Ice Machine on the first floor which seemed to be newer and did not make this thud. Stay away from this area of the hotel if you can help it, at least until they get a new machine. We didn't hear the ice hitting the bucket when other people used it, just the loud thud sound. We stayed in room 213.

The location of the hotel is nice, only 10mins from Frankenmuth (purpose of our stay) and opposite the highway from the Birch Run outlets.

We did not have the breakfast as we were in a hurry to get to Zhenders in Frankenmuth at opening time. So I can not comment on the breakfast.

Check In/Out was a very easy and smooth process.

Overall a clean nice room, Just terribly noisy ice machine made location of the room bad. Location of the hotel in general is great!

Room Tip: Stay way from the center of Floor 2 near the elevator and Ice Machine. At least until they replace t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear SimpleTraveler82,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, I apologize for the inconvenience of the loud ice machine. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us (without any complications or irritants). Since your stay, we have monitored and adjusted the ice machine located on the second floor. Im happy to hear that all other aspects of your visit meet your expectations. We thank you for the feedback and need such feedback to contniue growth and improvement. We would love to have you back and hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for the constructive feedback as this will help us improve all realms of the hotel operations.

Kind Regards,
Stephanie
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel while celebrating our 27th anniversary. We wanted something not too far from home but still "away". The staff was very helpful. The hotel is well maintained and easy to get to. The rooms were clean and a microwave and refrigerator were provided. They have a nice breakfast area with plenty of room. It is very close to the Outlet Mall and also close to Frankenmuth. It was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear melhoutz,

Happy Anniversary to you and your significant other! We are so happy that you chose our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. We hope that we provided you with a special experience where we will see you again!

Kindest Regards,
Brittany
Online Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were planning a trip to Frankenmuth only to find the entire town was booked so we ended up staying at Holiday Inn Express, Birch Run! I'm so glad that we did! The hotel is clean and well appointed. The free wi fi worked very well. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We were even able to enjoy the free breakfast which was very good. We had not planned on shopping the Outlet mall but because we were there, we decided to visit. It was so great with lots of bargains. We didn't have time to visit all the shops, but we did get to many. This hotel is a perfect location if you want to do both the outlet stores and Frankenmuth! There is even a 24 hour grocery store just across the road for even more convenience! Great location for a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: We had terrible pillows but that is the ONLY negative thing about this hotel. Bring yourself a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear RitaJohnston,

Thank you for coming to visit us at our hotel during your vacation to experience Frankenmuth. We are glad to hear you had great experiences with our breakfast selection, free wi-fi internet access and other amenities we have to offier. It would be very wonderful to have you as our guest again the future, as we will continue to provide a satisfying stay!

Kindest Regards,
Brittany
Online Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here overnight. Great hotel hot breakfast was good and the pool was nice. Had a great night sleep in the queen size bed, and the room was very clean. Would stay here again. And a short drive to Frankenmuth where we planned to have one of their great chicken dinners.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressBirchRun, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear HeatherBelleT,

It is so great that you were able to enjoy the attractions of Birch Run as well as Frankenmuth. We are pleased you were happy with your room accomodations as well as the location of our hotel! Our staff takes pride in providing guests with a great experience. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future!

Kindest Regards,
Brittany
Online Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area)

Address: 12150 Dixie Hwy., Birch Run, MI 48415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area) Hotel Birch Run
Holiday Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Birch Run (Frankenmuth Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.