We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good, and not clean” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery

Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery
12190 Market Place Dr, Birch Run, MI 48415
(989) 624-3354
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 27 Restaurants in Birch Run
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Pizza
Restaurant details
michigan
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Not good, and not clean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

They were obviously trying when they set this place up. Cute and with craft beer available. But execution is not good at all.

Problems start when ordering (you order at a counter and pick up your food in a window.) Disinterested and somewhat rude teen behind the counter. Out of the soup we wanted (though it was still up on the board behind the counter - erase it...) No bread bowls for the soup, out of those (we were there at 7PM on Saturday - right in the middle of their dinner) Warm soda in the cooler, needed ice. Reasonable prices though, we spent $35 for 3.

While waiting for the food, a trip to the restroom. Dirty. Wet floors. Human waste smeared on the wall. Yes, unfortunately I am not kidding. It is disgusting and I am uploading 2 photos to prove it. Inexcusable. Dirty restrooms usually mean a dirty kitchen. YUCK.

Back to the food. Pizza is made on pre-fab crusts, like a boboli. Are you kidding me? Took about 2 minutes from the time I ordered until it was ready. BLT sandwich was on nice bread but made with microwave bacon. Soup was good, but they had of course run out of what we wanted and didn't have the bread bowls.

So basically, I couldn't believe that this was the #1 restaurant in Birch Run on yelp, but it is. Should have looked at trip advisor first!

I say stay away, and I can't imagine what the other reviewers like about this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamil A, Owner at Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello, we would like the opportunity to address this blasphemous review. This was clearly posted by a proficient restaurant critic as it seems that he strangely has left similar reviews on every restaurant in Birch Run. In fact he has left the same review on multiple advisory sites about us. We have been in business almost 20 years in Birch Run and I welcome any one to tour our restaurant at any time. We have consistently the highest rating from the Saginaw County Health Dept and in fact many of their employees eat here regularly. We admit that there is an occasional oversight, but we are human. This is a family owned business in a close nit community. We urge you to stop into any of the over 170 outlet stores and ask the personnel about Victor & Merek’s. It is deeply upsetting that someone would plant fake photos or make them appear as if there is excrement on the wall. I am sure that he has lot of experience with this type of thing, but it is not true. We put our heart and soul into this restaurant and we use the finest, freshest ingredients available. We take pride in our products and we invite you to join us. If you have any issue please ask for me personally.
Sincerely, J. Alam Owner/operated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    21
    6
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
roseville, MI
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“One of the better and cheaper lunch options at Birch Run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is our standby lunch stop on the way Up North, or if we are stopping by to shop. V&Ms has quality sandwiches and a neat little store to boot. There is also ice cream and coffee available.

Seating outdoors is available in the summer if you need a relaxing break from the outlet mall.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Soup, Salads, and Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Also pizzas (never tried). Soups are tasty. Salads are full of flavor. The sandwiches are delicious. My favorite is the Muffoletta.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Typically I love delis, but this place was just okay. I was a little disappointed in the food, but I had high expectations.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Something a little different for the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We enjoyed the different style of sandwiches offered here. A review we read compared it to Schlotsky's style. We saw the resemblance, but it's also a bit different. I enjoyed the sandwich I had and thought it was reasonably priced. We also had the personal pizzas. They were good and big enough to share. I think it's a nice choice being so convenient to Birch Run outlets (you can walk from one to the other). Service was fine for us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victor & Merek's Deli Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.