We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Suite was NOT SWEET” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   9087 Birch Run Road, Birch Run, MI 48415   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Ossineke, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This Suite was NOT SWEET”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Tiny, dingy, old and very worn are the words to describe our "Suite". A mattress that should have been replaced a very long time ago (I actually slept on the floor 2 of the 4 nights). A "Jacuzzi" that is really a very tacky RED (yikes) heart shaped tub located in the "living area". The only thing new or in good condition in this "suite" were the TVs. Had there been an available room at another hotel in the area we would have moved. The Staff however are GREAT!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We value all of our guest's comments, positive or negative, so that we can continue to make improvements to our hotel. I would like to apologize because, from the sound of things, you were not impressed with our King Jacuzzi Suite as we hoped. The issue with the matress has been reported and will be fixed. On behalf of the staff we are happy that we provided you with excellent costumer service. Thank you again for you comments and concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    140
    82
    45
    31
See reviews for
166
154
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Still a dark and tired property...bed uncomfortable...internet unreliable...smell of smoke in our non smoking rooms...breakfast area was poorly maintained...front desk staff were great...loved the large grassy area with picnic benches and swing

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Kenny

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our hotel stay you recently had with us. I would like to apologize for the breakfast bar not being maintained properly and also for the internet not working in your room. But we are glad to hear that our front desk staff provided you with excellent customer service and that you enjoyed our courtyard sitting area. Thank you again for your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

We checked in and waited the 2 hours to have our room ready. We got the call to get our room key at 4pm. At 6:30 we got a call from our alarm company saying our house had a flood emergency so we had to leave. Being that we only were there for an hour and a half the receptionist told us we could book a different night instead. When we called back the next day we were told that even though we only had the room for 1.5 hours they would not comp a different day for us after all. So we paid $85 to have the room for 1.5 hours.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all let me start by saying that we hope that all is well with the flooding in your basement. Again, we have looked into your account and as discussed in our conversations, due to the fact that the room was occupied for nearly 7 hours we unfortunatley are unable to release the charge on your stay, or offer another night free of charge.

We hope that you will reconsider and give us another shot to make your next stay an amazing one.

Thank you again for your comments and concerns.

Jessica VanDeMark
Front Office Manager
Best Western of Birch Run
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Very satisfied. Good value for the money. Excellent location for those guests wishing to shop at Birch Run factory outlet mall. Found pub foo served in lounge very tasty and good quality. Pool area could stand a little upgrading, but not bad.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to write such a good review on your recent stay with us at the Best Western. Our staff strives to make every guest feel welcomed and at home. We are gald to hear you enjoyed a delicious meal at our Fireside Lounge.

We have reviewed your comments and concerns about our pool area and issues are being taken care of. Again thank you for you nice review on your stay with us. We hope to see you agin soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The worst Best Western I have ever stayed in. 6 of us shared 2 rooms for 2 nights. The front desk service was underwhelming at best. The two girls were more interested in talking to each other about personal issues than greeting and checking us in properly. The rooms were a decent size, but dingy, outdated and musty smelling. They certainly were not up to the cleanliness standards I expect from Best Western. Our rooms were on the second floor, with no elevator. No assisstance was available to help with bags, even after asking. 3 of our group are seniors with mobility problems, but we were refused any kind of accessible rooms. The towels were thin and dingy looking. When we all asked for extra towels, we got 1. Only 1 bar of soap and 1 shampoo, for 3 guests/ per room. Breakfast was another disappointment, as they were "out" of everything early.

This place needs a major renovation. Its like walking into 1975. There are several hotels in the same area that are much nicer for less money!! I routinely stay at Best Westerns when I travel. As a Rewards member I frequently stay at Best Westerns throughout the US AND Canada. This was THE WORST experience I have had with any BW EVER! The discourteousness of the staff, the lack of breakfast items, the insufficient amenities such as soap and towels and general overall cleanliness bring this hotel to a DO NOT STAY RATING. I will be staying elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Multiple floor design but NO elevators. Seniors/disabled/limited mobility beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest

I am deeply sorry to hear about your stay with us. We try to make every visitors experience as enjoyable as possible. As for you comments and concerns above we have took immediate action to get these issues resolved and fixed. The staff will be made aware of the shortcomings you mentioned above.

We always strive to make people happy and comfortable when they are stay with us. As for us not having an elevator we are deeply sorry that we had no other rooms on the ground floor to move you too. Breakfast issues was reported to the Breakfast supervisor and has been taken care of. Again I am deeply sorry to hear our hotel failed you at your stay with us, and hope you could give us a second change in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had problems getting enough clean towels, and maid service was not stellar, but overall room was clean and bug free. Be careful, as the showers are very slick, and water pressure from the shower heads is barely adequate. Breakfast is ok, nothing special. Yogurt and fruit selection could be better, but at least protein choices are present. Ok for the Price, clean enough, no bugs. Cable TV selections are minimal.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Thelma

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay with us at the at the Best Western Birch Run/ Frankenmuth location. I'm deeply sorry to learn that you had a difficult time getting enough towels for your room and the housekeeping service was not stellar. Your comment on our housekeeping service was noted and have already passed to our housekeeping supervisor. I'm also sorry to hear that you weren't impressed with our breakfast bar, As for the minimal TV channels, we are in the process of adding more channels. Thank you again Thelme for taking time to review this review, and hope you come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travers City, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Nice, tired motel. Needs update, but clean and pet friendly. Noise problem with motorcycle that was not rectified. Very close at all major roads but in a aquard location for accessing them. Adjacent resturante closed. Did not eat at motel site but choice of different foods sounded fine. They were helpful in infor about taking care and the needs of our pet. Overall, clean motel that is in need of a makeover to attrack a bette class of customers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We were glad to welcome you and your pet to our hotel and are thankful for comments and concerns about your stay with us. We value all guest comments, positve or negative, so that we can continue to make improvements to our hotel.

We would liuke to welcome you and your pet back, if you are in the area again. Again thank you for you review on your stay at the Best Western.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth

Address: 9087 Birch Run Road, Birch Run, MI 48415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Birch Run / Frankenmuth Hotel Birch Run
Best Western Birch Run
Birch Run Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.