We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, ok hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   9087 Birch Run Road, Birch Run, MI 48415   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Nice staff, ok hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We booked after reading other reviews ot the hotel. We found the room was too cramped for the pack and play we brought for our baby. It looks like an old style hotel, but is very nice. Most rooms are exterior entrance, not interior. Also, just basic cable, so don't expect ESPN or CNN. All staff we dealt with was very friendly and helpful. It served its purpose for the night, but was nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.
Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Front Desk Staff
BWBR Front Desk
Best Western of Birch Run/ Frankenmuth
9087 Birch Run Rd.
Birch Run, MI 48415
(989) 624-9395
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    130
    73
    42
    30
See reviews for
158
137
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

What a lovely hotel- close to Frankenmuth, and very quiet. The king suite was spacious and clean. A soak in the hot tub and a good night's sleep in the very comfortable bed were just the thing after a long day of sight-seeing and shopping.
The staff were some of the friendliest people we met in Michigan, and we enjoyed a hot breakfast to start our day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were
to receive your kind words of praise for our property.

Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding.
Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very
best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our
staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel. We hope that we will see you again in the near future. Thank again for your loyalty to the Best Western Brand.

Jessica VanDeMark
Front Office Manager
Best Western of Birch Run
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I writing this while sitting out in the courtyard in front of our room. We really enjoyed our stay here. Pool and hot tub are nice. The arcade is fun with a good selection of games and the fireside lounge has great food. Good selection of hot and cold foods for breakfast too. Very clean, comfortable and quiet. Cute courtyard and beautiful flowers.

Above all else, the staff here is fantastic. We have only encountered friendly, helpful, bright, cheery people since we got here. Off to have a beer and kick my husband's rear at a game of pool now. Thanks BW :)

Room Tip: Lower courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all let me say that we hope you did kick your husbands tail at pool. It is always a delight when we hear that our guest have enjoyed so many of the wonderful amenities that we do have to offer. I will be sharing your comments with the entire staff.


Thank you again,

Jessica VanDeMark
Front Office Manager
Best Western of Birch Run
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at Best Western Birch Run Aug 2 to Aug 4 .Good value and very clean. Nothing fancy but everything was clean and everyone working there was nice and everything we needed worked The only problem we had was at the breakfast on the second day there was a lack of products there. There was no yogurt there was a lack of muffins and not many egg sandwiches and the only fruit was apples. I would stay here again as the price was right and we like the fact that you can sit out in the courtyard and not be stuck in the hotel when you are at the hotel. I would rate this a 3-1/2 or 4 out of 5

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your rating. We here at the Best Western are always delighted to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay. I am however, a little concerned on the lack of breakfast items that were available to you, we are currently working on improving our breakfast program and hope that you will see the vast improvements we are making during your next visit.

Thank you again for your survey comments.

Jessica VanDeMark
Front Office Manager
Best Western of Birch Run
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The king suites are spacious, very clean and always well appointed. Bed was very comfortable. The fireplace and hot tub are the added bonuses. It is very close to shopping and Frankenmuth ( a destination of its own). We always stay here when traveling in the area. The staff is very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your most recent stay at the Best Western of Birch Run. We are so pleased to hear that you truly enjoy the Whirlpool Fireplace Suites (we think they are great as well).

We look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Jessica VanDeMark
Front Office Manager
Best Western of Birch Run
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have stood at this hotel several times, but this past experience was a big let-down.
PROS: Customer Service was good, was able to get an early check-in. The room was a good size and appeared very clean. The shower had good water pressure. A/C was nice and cold. If you are a rewards member, you receive two vouchers at the bar for a free beer or wine. The location is nice. You are close to Birch Run and Frankenmuth. Plus there is a Meijer, and several fast food places nearby. Room service was nice. The pizza was large and delicious. However, last time we stood here we were able to order dessert which they no longer have. My daughter was disappointed because she remembered her ice cream sundae from previous trip. We enjoyed the arcade, bar/lounge, and small gift shop.

CONS: As soon as I walked into the hotel, I was overwhelmed by a strong chlorine smell (the pool was at the other side of the building). Not to mention, the hot tub was not working, no sign to indicate that before we started down there. We came down to breakfast early, and most of the things were already gone and not restocked. There is no order or line to the buffet. Everyone was cutting in front of people and grabbing things, it was a madhouse. There was no juice available. The muffins were still frozen. The breakfast sandwich (resembles a sausage egg cheese mcmuffin) was undercooked and left a bad after taste. From past experience, I expected this and usually would have walked next door to The Exit family diner but they are no longer in business. I was disappointed they took out the Keno in the lounge. Also, I would not recommend getting an interior room with a patio. During our trip, they had a sports group staying there and they would constantly be walking outside, talking loud right by the window. The same group was seen numerous times walking around the property or goofing around in the pool unsupervised. The day before we left they broke glass window in the pool area. The pool and exercise room both had to be closed as there was pieces of glasses everywhere.

Room Tip: I would not recommend getting an interior room with a patio. During our trip, they had a sports gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I am sad to learn that your stay was not as enjoyable as stays in the past. Your comments are duly noted and have been passed on to the proper departments. We hope that you will come back and let us have the chance to give you that Wow experience that you are looking for.

Jessica VanDeMark
Front Office Manager
Best Western Birch Run
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Run, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We love your Hotel. We stay here everytime we get a chance to have a "staycation". The breakfast is awesome, the biscuits and gravy are my husbands favorite, while I truly enjoyed the omelet. Your staff is always a joy to talk to. Thank you for making us feel at home time and time again. See you again real soon we hope. :)

Room Tip: "Courtyard" rooms inside to hotel are def worth the extra fee. We love to sit outside on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWBRFrontDesk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Let me be the first one to tell you thanks for your return visits! We are pleased to hear that your husband enjoyed the biscuits and gravy. We are truly looking forward to your next "staycation" visit to your home away from home.

Thank you again for your wonderful comments regarding your stay.

Jessica VanDeMark
Front Office Manager
Best Western Birch Run
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth

Address: 9087 Birch Run Road, Birch Run, MI 48415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Birch Run / Frankenmuth Hotel Birch Run
Best Western Birch Run
Birch Run Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN of Birch Run/Frankenmuth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.