We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar and Joey's Roadhouse

Oscar and Joey's Roadhouse
12027 Dixie Highway, Birch Run, MI
989-624-9349.
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Birch Run
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wakarusa, IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a great place to eat after shopping at the outlet mall. We weren't sure when we pulled in the parking lot if we really wanted to eat here. But once we were inside we were pleasantly surprise. Great atmosphere and the server was great! She was very friendly and took great care of us. Don't miss out on this hidden gem. The food was great too. If you like wild meat this is the place to go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Doesn't look like much from the outside, but I knew I had a winner with the first spoonful of the chicken and rice soup. Real chicken, real vegetables, and rice--made there! So, Good!! I had the parmesan encrusted tilapia, and mashed potatoes. Fantastic! I couldn't pass up the rhubarb pie. Everything was made there. Best food I've had in a long time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We needed somewhere close to our hotel to eat after attending a Michigan Football game. Went to Oscar and Joey's - a little skeptical from the outside view, but man are we glad we went! My husband had the perch and I had shrimp. Both were great. Best part was the apple dumpling served with cream! We are definitely going back this year and looking forward to another great meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Mom and Pop Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

One of our favorites things to do when we travel is ask the locals where we can get a good meal. We don't like to go to the chain restaurants that you can find everywhere we prefer the mom and pop places. This is a great one. We weren't sure looking at it from the outside but the hotel staff recommended it so we gave it a try. The owner came and sat with us and talked to us sharing photos of Oscar and Joey, the Irish Wolfhounds that the place was named after. The staff is a big family and they treat you like family as well. It was clean with excellent home cooked food. Would highly recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food ,good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Dave the owner came out and sat at our table. Great guy interesting menu. The soup is the best part, take anything they offer. The wife loved the perch and grandmas home made pies. Definitely worth coming back for a second visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oscar and Joey's Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Oscar and Joey's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar and Joey's Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.