We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PATHETIC CUSTOMER SERVICE AND OWNER IS RUDE AND AN IDIOT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12112 South Beyer Road, Birch Run, MI 48415   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“PATHETIC CUSTOMER SERVICE AND OWNER IS RUDE AND AN IDIOT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Front desk booked us on the wrong Saturday so we had to get a different room and pay $40 more. This was after they charged our credit card, though we said not to. Owner blamed us instead of admitting his staff made a mistake and he then refused to credit our credit card so we were stuck. Front desk staff is unfriendly and never smiles. The pool had floaties on top and we refused to use it. With the extra money they stole from us, they could of bought a bottle of chlorine and a skimmer. Nasty, rude owner and hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    117
    76
    32
    26
See reviews for
181
144
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Big Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

The hotel was very nice. The pool was very clean and they did not strictly enforce the closing time, which was nice with the 4 teenagers we had. The rooms were spacious and clean. The free breakfast was very nice and pleantiful. We did have problems with the toilet in our original room, but we had staff there within a few minutes and eventually got transfered to a better room for our discomfort. Overall a great stay and our daughter greatly enjoyed her birthday there!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We had Room 214, across from the infamous "Bedbug Room 213".
We had NO BEDBUGS. It was a nice comfortable bed. No extras, just a nice room for $72 a night. It was a warm room, so we opened up the windows all night. Very close to all the shopping and restaurants. Sonic, Arby's, Bob Evans, all the restaurants you could ask for.
No meat at the free breakfast, but they did have waffle makers, and hard-boiled eggs. Tasty!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

The rooms are sooo old and need to be remodeled and cleaned! If it wasn't for the location, I would say this hotel is horid. The staff were not friendly and the beds were old and hard. The pillows were just horid. The rooms were a good size, as well as the bathroom. Bathroom appeared clean. The first thing I did was look for bedbugs. None found that I could see. Good thing we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

We have stayed at Country Inns elsewhere and they were great!!! THIS ONE IS NOT!! It is well used. The corridors and stair wells were dirty. The pool was cloudy. The room had an odour of its own (non smoking). The beds and pillows left a lot to be desired. The staff didn't care or listen or understand. The place needs a total upgrade including staff to get to Country Inn standards.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We have stayed at Country Inn and Suites in Birch Run many times. The reasons why we come back is the location, service, and friendliness of the staff. Andy, the manger, is very personable and always goes out of his way to make our stay pleasant. Great customer service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I've stayed in Country Inns around the country and this was the worst I've have ever encountered. The manager wasn't very pleasant as we arrived too early for checking in. He did finally check us in and gave us keys so that after visiting my mother-in-law in the hospital, we could bring in our bags then. We had a king suite with pull out sofa. The air conditioner was in the room with the king bed and had very poor ventilation to the rest of the room and bathroom. The room was extremely hot with the pull out sofa and the king room freezing cold. I had to leave all the doors open including the bathroom door so the temperature was tolerable. I also called down to the desk for extra pillows and expected them in the room when we returned from dinner. I had to call again when we returned for the pillows as they weren't delivered. Breakfast was ok, a basic continental w/ 2 waffle makers. That's the "hot breakfast". No eggs or sausages nor fruit or yogurt which I have had at other Country Inns. I was very disappointed after paying a premium price for this location on a Friday night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run

Address: 12112 South Beyer Road, Birch Run, MI 48415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run Hotel Birch Run
Country Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.