We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12112 South Beyer Road, Birch Run, MI 48415   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paw Paw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed overnight with a friend for a shopping trip to the outlet mall. The place was comfortable, quiet and clean! We arrived at noon and they let us check in early which made it very convenient.
The breakfast was a full breakfast with bacon, eggs and fruit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    117
    76
    32
    25
See reviews for
180
144
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for one night here again as our last stay was excellent. The owner was very accomodating when we decided to stay another night. We found it very clean and so close to shopping. We will definitely stay again...already looking forward to our next stay! Its nice to have coffee, a fridge and microwave in the room. The free breakfasts are also a plus as you usually have to go out for it.

Room Tip: You might want to book on second floor away from pool if you dont like too much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here, and cannot say enough about how we were impressed!The room was extremely clean, it was very quiet, and the breakfast was outstanding.We would be more than happy to recommend Country Inn and Suites to any of our friends. Thank you again for the wonderful time we had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Overall a nice hotel. We stay for the internet and hot tub. Couldn't get connected with the internet for the first day and half. Used toll free number for help with no success. Could connect in lobby or down the hall, just not in room. The hot tub was okay except for the overwelming chlorine smell and burning of eyes. We have stayed here many times without issues, so not sure why this visit.

Also breakfast room small but breakfast was good and close to the outlet mall. Room clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are working diligently to improve the high speed internet service in our hotel and we apologize for the issues you encountered with this service. We understand that this is an important amenity for our guests, and I am truly sorry for any inconvenience this caused for you. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope you will give us another try when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc MI
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed at several CI&S and Andy has allowed this location to stand out among others due to their customer service. I had reserved three rooms for a “staycation” during spring break for an overnight birthday party. I wish I could have had side by side rooms but that was not an option. The bed was comfortable, and the room clean. One of our rooms would benefit from a professional carpet cleaner, but that would not detour me from staying again. Flat screen televisions (2) were in each room (suite), with plenty of linens, and pillows for the pull out bed. The room had a refrigerator and extras that CI&S is known for. The pool area only had three tables and six chairs and the hotel was full of children. We had to sit along the window edges. I would recommend that more seating be added to the pool area because there was some type of covered electronic chair attached to both pool and hot tub which blocked my view from where the tables were. Everyone seemed to comment on the pool being cold and the hot tub just warm. Breakfast was great, with so many choices. I arrived early and had the place practically to myself, but when I went down with the family around nine it was packed without anywhere to sit. I asked for trays so I could take the meal back to our rooms. I asked about additional seating and was told afterwards that they opened the area opposite the front desk. I would stay here again just by the way Andy treats his guests. The location is in walking distance to the Outlet stores. I was given a coupon to obtain a book of discounts at the main office of the outlet stores. There were also other discount coupons to Frankenmuth and other area restaurants on the desk and in the entrance area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The location can't be beat -- right in the heart of Birch Run outlets. Melissa at the front desk is as helpful and efficient as other reviews have indicated. However, I did find this hotel to be showing its age. The carpets are in bad need of changing. Cigarette burns and general wear and tear have taken their toll. The furniture in our room was not so bad, but the overall impression of the decor is that of the 1980s. Our room was average for cleanliness; there were a few hairs on the bathroom floor which would turn most people off. In the breakfast room -- which they run wonderfully well -- there is a wall of fame including famous guests who have stayed: Randy Travis, Diamond Rio, Alabama, etc....I said to my wife that these people must have stayed when this place opened because they sure wouldn't be staying here now. I hate to be negative, but although we only paid $59 per night, we won't be returning until perhaps there's been a renovation. Some things need fixing, too. The side door to the hotel was always unlocked, even at night. There were also a cigarette butt on the inside of the stairwell where someone smoked and butted it out. This hallway reeked of smoke. It's too bad because the people who work here are very nice, but it still makes it hard to come back. I wish trip advisor gave another option to rate this hotel other than poor or average because it deserves something in between.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here on business in February and into March. Excellent experience. Rooms were very clean and the staff very friendly. Breakfast was very good and they kept the breakfast out until 9:30. A plus for me because I was working afternoons. Thank you and I hope to be back in the area again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run

Address: 12112 South Beyer Road, Birch Run, MI 48415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Birch Run
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Birch Run
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Birch Run
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run Hotel Birch Run
Country Inn Birch Run
Birch Run Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Birch Run, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.