We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Trails Zoo - CLOSED

Wilderness Trails Zoo
11721 Gera Road, Birch Run, MI 48415
(989) 624-6177
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Warren, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVE this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great zoo, animals are active, love to watch the bears playing the pools. Employees are nice, and enjoy talking to you. Petting farm is great, as is the employees that work that area. Reptile area is top notch! Great photo taking ops, just zoom in the camera, hold steady and you can get up close pics of the lions, bears and tigers. You cant get pics like that at the Detroit Zoo! Love the unique animals on display also, and enjoy the shady woodsy area. We visit this zoo several times a year!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    5
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great local attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is not a fancy big-city zoo... that being said, for a small, local attraction, it is worth a visit. My 5 year old daughter has been here once or twice a year and always enjoys it. It's dusty (or muddy depending on the weather) and doesn't have bathrooms and/or concessions every 10 feet, but overall it's a great place to see animals we don't usually get to see. The staff has always been friendly and laid back and there are a surprising number of animals on display. It's much bigger than it looks in my opinion.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caro, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ANIMALS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our kids have been on field trips here as well as family trips. The only bad experience i had was when i walked by the lion cage during feeding time. yikes! lol

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“RUN DOWN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have gone there in the past and it was really a nice zoo...NOW it just seems run down and neglected....There is a lot of room for animals , but the ones they have are in small pens and are looking sad...Cant with a straight face say to go there...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The poor animals at this facility have some very small and dirty pens. The poor bear and tigers especially have very little room. Both of my kids took a school field trip here and the workers held a demonstration on feeding the monkeys. I was shocked at what they Monkeys were given, chips cookies candy all sorts of junk food. WHAT!!!! Shouldn't they be given fruit or vegetables!!! I was very unimpressed and couldn't believe that. The path for the zoo is a dirt trail that gets very very muddy if it has been raining. The bathroom facilities are very small and not very nice. When our school was there on a field trip there were at least two other schools there also and it was extremely crowded especially at the very tiny play place. The zoo is not very large and it was not really big enough to accomodate that many people. Our school had taken about 8 classes, we had three busses full and it was too much with all the other schools that were their also. I felt bad for the people that just showed up hoping for a nice day at the zoo. Personally I have no desire to go back, I've found that Potter's Park Zoo in Lansing is a much nicer cleaner less crowded experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness Trails Zoo also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Trails Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.