We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is English still spoken in Michigan?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 S. State St., Big Rapids, MI 49307   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
lexington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Is English still spoken in Michigan?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

This is the second time I've stayed at this property. I have had two conferences here and they have both been in the afternoon which allows me time to rest. Both times before going to bed I always have placed the "DO NOT DISTURB" placard on the door handle. Evidently the housekeeping staff does not understand the NATIONAL LANGUAGE. I would like to take the time to thank those for waking me at a very early hour not once, not twice, but three times. I do apologize that the current management doesn't force it's customers to check out before 6:00 AM, as maybe they should because you will be disturbed constantly until you do. I do hope that one day I have the privilege to be your pilot and can be as accommodating and expediant as the housekeeping staff have been to me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    37
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
42
22
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

The Quality Inn in Big Rapids has a lot going for it. The staff at check-in was helpful and answered all of my questions. The room was well kept, updated and was in good repair. They also provide breakfast in the morning and have snacks all day in the lobby.

I don't think you could do much better for the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethsida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The hotel was just average, although the front desk staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good. The pool was not open even though the weather did permit. (it is an outdoor pool) We did not like the Manager, BJ. This manager walked around talking loudly on his cellphone is some other language and sat and used the computer for guests for quite a while making it impossible for my husband to print out driving directions. Also during breakfast we heard one guest talking to another about an affair that this manager was having with one of the housekeepers. We don't want to go to hotels and hear this gossip. It made the whole place seem unclean. We will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

The rooms were very spacious and clean. The building is an older building but it is great condition. I was disppointed that the pool was outdoor so it was not open due to the season, but the staff was nice and the breakfast in the morning was nice. I would stay again if I travel to visit the Ferris State Universithy Campus.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed in this hotel in May for a graduation party we traveled to. We were told there was an indoor pool. When we got there, it was outdoors. We had three kids to entertain and there were no other hotels available. We stayed because of no choice, but would not go back. Our room was 95 degrees when we opened the door. We turned off the heat, but could not get the air to work. We actually had to leave the door open in the middle of the night because it was so hot. There were cob webs and dead bugs in our room. The night light was burned out. The windows did not have screens so you could open them to get air. We asked for a blanket and pillow and were only able to get a blanket. I expressed my dissatisfaction to the desk in the morning. There were no other rooms available, so that was not an option, I told her I would like to complain to management and she gave me an e-mail address. I sent my complaints that week and a month later, have never heard anything back. I will never stay at another "Quality" Inn.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — comfort/cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa2travel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2008

First time I stayed at a quality inn. Was expecting it to me much nicer......older building, the rooms are big and clean but you can tell the building is old

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2004

The Best Western Big Rapids is a great place to stay. The hotel has been recently remodeled, the pool is open and they have a very good continental breakfast.

The staff is very willing to help with any issues. It is a bit off the beaten path but very worth the short drive through town to arrive at the destination.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1705 S. State St., Big Rapids, MI 49307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Big Rapids hotel walking distance from Ferris State University Golf enthusiasts will enjoy being close to Katke Golf Course, St. Ives Golf Club, Falcon Head Golf Club and the Tullymore Golf Club, one of the few courses in Michigan to receive a number one rating in the 20-year history of Golf Digest magazine's contest for the best new golf courses. The Muskegon River is just one mile from the hotel and offers outdoor activities like fishing, canoing and tubing. Hunting is available in the surrounding area. Several shops and a variety of restaurants are conveniently located minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Big Rapids
Big Rapids Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.