We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop at Ferris University” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 S. State St., Big Rapids, MI 49307   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great stop at Ferris University”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Let me start by saying if your looking for a 5 star hotel this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a great stay in Big Rapids for a night or two this is the place for you. The room was very clean and spacious. I had a refrigerator and microwave. The hotel is located a few blocks from the college. Our son will be attending Ferris in the fall so we will be frequenting this hotel. The breakfast is more than adequate. The cost is very reasonable too. You will be satisfied. At checkout I waited quite a while before someone came to assist me. I later found out they only had one person working the front desk and breakfast area. They need to hire help. the person working was very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear in the bigger building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    37
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
42
22
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Munfordville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Staff was very nice. Room was quite and clean. We had wanted a handicap room, but it was to the rear of the hotel. The staff on duty was very helpful and put us in a very suitable room. Having a small fridge and microwave was a definite plus. We liked the sink separate from shower. Price was very reasonable for the area. Close enough to shopping and restaurants. Wifi was good enough. We didn't eat breakfast there but we did get our coffee. It was good and the area was clean.

Room Tip: Handicap is all the way in the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was such an excellent value! Every amenity, including micro-wave and fridge!, free wifi, pool, and breakfast. Nicely furnished, clean, with helpful cheerful staff. The room was very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was convenient and clean, plus the price was fine. The bed was fine, but not pillow top great. The shower was OK, not super. Sink was separate from shower, a nice plus. Kind of an odd layout. Did not do breakfast. Staff was nice. We would stay again though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I were very pleased not only with the friendly staff but the nice clean room we found. Really good location and comfortable. Free wifi, breakfast and outdoor pool. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Don't be put off by reasonable price. Lobby is updated, clean and inviting. Front desk personnel very friendly. Stayed in building at back of hotel with new carpeting and beds and room was super clean and fresh smelling. A quiet area and we could leave window open for fresh outdoor air .

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Although the hotel was difficult to find late at night (the city moved the street names, so DO NOT depend on GPS!) we finally were able to flag down an on duty police officer. When we did find the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised that it was nice, clean and the pillows like soft clouds :) The breakfast was an assortment of hot and cold items. We had the waffles and fruit, with real syrup and real butter.
The staff we helpful and gave good advise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1705 S. State St., Big Rapids, MI 49307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Big Rapids hotel walking distance from Ferris State University Golf enthusiasts will enjoy being close to Katke Golf Course, St. Ives Golf Club, Falcon Head Golf Club and the Tullymore Golf Club, one of the few courses in Michigan to receive a number one rating in the 20-year history of Golf Digest magazine's contest for the best new golf courses. The Muskegon River is just one mile from the hotel and offers outdoor activities like fishing, canoing and tubing. Hunting is available in the surrounding area. Several shops and a variety of restaurants are conveniently located minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Big Rapids
Big Rapids Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.