We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1705 S. State St., Big Rapids, MI 49307   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Oswego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I was very impressed with this quality inn. I stay at choice hotels probably at least 80 nights a year and this is one of the nicest quality inns ive stayed at. Very clean and even though it is the old outside entry style it looks like its been renovated recently. Also the night shift employee went above and beyond to help me. I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    37
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
42
22
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My mom is handicapped and was having special tests in Grand Rapids last week and the doctor advised us not to travel far, but we could go about an hour or two, but not all the way back home 4 plus hours. So I read the reviews and called this hotel. I explained from the beginning that I needed adjoining rooms and handicapped accessible. When I called back to confirm my reservations and that they were adjoining rooms on 1st floor for handicapped the manager answered - VJ and he said the original guy gave me an upper floor. (P.S. there is no elevator to the 2nd floor). So he fixed it and promised me adjoining rooms on 1st floor so I could take care of my mother. While still in Grand Rapids and getting ready to leave I called the hotel to once again confirm adjoining rooms, the situation, etc. and Jessica said everything was set and the rooms were together. *****2 hours later when I arrived the front desk man named Matt said our rooms were separate and were not adjoining and there was nothing he could do. The next morning apparently Cindy was ready for me at the front desk and barked at me that the people in the room adjoining would not move out as they were staying another day. I asked then why did Jessica tell me the night before that they were still adjoining and she must have lied in order to get me to spend money still at this hotel and Cindy said she did not lie, she just have just mispoken. Well after going back and forth taking care of my mom and kids it was my worst night ever. Also my daughter got bit in bed by one of those pincher bugs and we could see the rubber did not meet to the ground on the door and probably come in under the door so she also did not sleep the rest of the night. The next morning the breakfast would have been great, except we had to wait in line and there was only 1 waffle maker and 50 people trying to eat in a very small area. They should separate their waffle area and drink area, etc or expand. No room there in the eating area for the disabled in motorized scooters to get to the food either. ####2 - The maids kept knocking from 7:00 a.m. on and when we went to the door they said, "Oh we thought you checked out" and we kept telling them no we didnt and they 15 minutes later they would be back - sucks! Guess they really wanted to get rid of us.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast very early or there is no room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is very close to the Ferris State University. This is a clean and quiet hotel. Rooms are nice and big, beds are very comfortable. Bathrooms look newly remodeled. Although we did not use the pool, it is a very nice outside pool. Continental Breakfast was excellant. We will Definitely stay here again !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Clean, quiet hotel in a good location. Nothing fancy but does the trick. Good breakfast in the morning

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

After reading reviews for this hotel, i had my doubts, but was actually surprised. The drawback i found was their breakfast bar. The room was small (we actually couldn't find any place to sit) and the eggs are powdered eggs. YUK. But for a short overnight stay, the room was clean and close to Ferris State University.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were doing our Upper Peninsula tour in late May, 2012. Big Rapids was our fourth and last stop before we headed home. My husband wanted to check out their White Pine (Bicycle) Trail. We booked one night, a king-sized suite. It was the best deal of all accommodations that we had made during the trip.

Check-in was friendly and professional. The room was clean, spacious, and orderly. It was not extravagant but pleasant. Everything was working as it was supposed to. The additional blanket requested late in the evening was delivered promptly.

What really floored us was the breakfast the following morning . Their continental breakfast was not just a bit watery coffee and sugary pastries/muffins. It was the real thing which included scramble eggs, sausages, waffles, bagels, cream cheese, yogurts, juices, etc. Just name a few.

It is well situated close to the campus of Ferris. So those who want to check out the university ... This is a very convenient location to stay.

My husband, a bicyclist, and I will definitely be back when we try out their trail and the surrounding scenic drives.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We booked 3 rooms for a Ferris State University Graduation on 5/4/12. We had booked them in January and after calling all over, they were the ONLY rooms left in Big Rapids. We were aprehensive since the rooms were only $90 and that even included the tax and we thougtht ..."Oh boy...what are we in for?" But we were desperate so we booked the last 3 rooms. We arrived about 1pm (check-in was at 3pm) and even though they were super busy and fully booked they did everything they could and within a matter of minutes, and a couple phone calls, they got us checked into 2 of our rooms so we could get dressed for the 3:30 ceremony. They even offered us coffee while we waited. They were super gracious and helpful and made of us feel like we were the only guests. And believe me, we weren't! The rooms were well maintained and very clean. The next morning the free continental breakfast consisted of eggs, sausage, cereal, toast, bagel, yogurt, danishes, juice and probably a few other things I'm forgetting. The lady that took care of the filling and the cleaning up was so cheery and polite. Our daughter was running late and the breakfast time was coming to a close. I could see she was starting the clean up and I was getting nervous but this nice woman said "don't worry, take your time...don't rush her. I'll leave the food out". That has never happened to us before. At other places we have stayed they sometimes start cleaning up early to give the "hint" and then glare at you if you linger over coffee. Everyone one of the staff we came in contact with were extremely pleasant and helpful. And did I mention the price of the rooms were all less than $90 each. A real bargain!! We would stay there again in a heartbeat. I travel for business quite frequently and the company puts me up in nothing less than a Hyatt or Sheraton in the $300 a night range so its not like I have nothing to compare this to. The Big Rapids Quality Inn may not have 900 square foot rooms or an ocean view but thier service is right up there with the Resort Hotels. i just wish I would have asked for the names of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1705 S. State St., Big Rapids, MI 49307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Mecosta County > Big Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Big Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Big Rapids hotel walking distance from Ferris State University Golf enthusiasts will enjoy being close to Katke Golf Course, St. Ives Golf Club, Falcon Head Golf Club and the Tullymore Golf Club, one of the few courses in Michigan to receive a number one rating in the 20-year history of Golf Digest magazine's contest for the best new golf courses. The Muskegon River is just one mile from the hotel and offers outdoor activities like fishing, canoing and tubing. Hunting is available in the surrounding area. Several shops and a variety of restaurants are conveniently located minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Big Rapids
Big Rapids Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.