We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traveler's Motel

Traveler's Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bessemer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Traveler's Motel
1470 US Highway 2 East, Bessemer, MI 49911   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Bessemer B&B and Inns
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We called in the late afternoon and were able to get a room for that night. Donna was so welcoming and helping when we asked for suggestions on dining and touring the Porcupines. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here on our anniversary on 9-7-13. Donna was so kind and the place was very reasonable. VERY clean and quiet, very comfortable. Thank you Donna for making our stay very enjoyable. We will definitely be back whenever we are up that way.

Jeff and Sue Martin, Neenah, WI

Room Tip: VERY clean, LOVED it here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hustonville, KY
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights while visiting family and the hotel is a great value. Donna was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms were small and the one in our room had no electric outlet. Kind of inconvenient. We did have a fridge, which we love to have. The wifi didn't work in our room. If you need to use it, I would suggest getting a room close to the office.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Traveler's Motel annually over the past dozen years during my summer travels. This place is always a pleasure to visit. It is beautifully clean, quiet and comfortable. The home-style bedding is lovely, indeed, comforting. As a bonus, it's also reasonably priced. There are roads behind the motel property which are ideal for an evening walk for those of us who like to have our daily constitutional. It's not unusual to see deer on the hilly terrain which borders the residential area. The owners are wonderful -- a very decent and industrious couple who knows how to run a high quality business and keep their clients coming back for more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

First of all, Traveler's Motel is not a Hilton/Hyatt. That said, I was pleasantly surprised. For a budget motel, this place is a gem. The room is well kept and clean. By well kept, I mean everything was in good to excellent condition. I have stayed at my share of hotels (including Hiltons and Hyatts) where things are old, worn, and barely work. I can say that everything at Traveler's Motel was fully functional. The fridge kept things cold (and overnight the freezer mostly froze 4 bottles of water). Sink and toilet were shiny and looked new (no worn porcelain). Ditto for the shower (my only complaint is a low flow shower head, and no bathtub). Bathroom floor is a wood floor with a shiny finish. Bed had sheets like you would have at home, not institutional white. TV and remote worked fine. Donna, the owner, was very friendly, and a pleasant sight for sore eyes after a long day.

The price for a room is very reasonable. However, the room size is like a New York City room. Not much larger than the bed. A room with a single bed does have a chair and cocktail table (not a desk). Rooms are non-smoking, and no pets.

Note: I sent an initial request to the e-mail on their website. I never received a reply. I called 2 days later, and easily made a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

A group of family and friends stay here every year over the New Year Holiday. I can't say enough good things about this place. It's always clean, the prices are very reasonable, and it's the perfect place to stay if you're visiting to ski/snowmobile/etc and want a warm, comfy place to hang your hat at nigh. The owners are incredibly friendly and it truly feels like home when you're staying here. HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend! :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville Junction, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My mother and I spent a week here in October 2011 while we were visiting with family and friends in the area. Our room was spacious and super-clean (and I'm particular about cleanliness!). The owner was very friendly and helpful, and the rates were very reasonable. We'd gladly stay here again. I wish all motels were this nice!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Traveler's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveler's Motel

Address: 1470 US Highway 2 East, Bessemer, MI 49911
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Bessemer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bessemer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traveler's Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Traveler's Motel to your Saves list