We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2276 Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I liked everything about this hotel. The room was clean and quiet, much better quality than the low price I paid. The evening desk clerk baked chocolate chip cookies and set them out for the guests. Best of all, the manager herself chauffeured me to the car rental, saving me the taxi fare. I had broken down on the highway and had no way to continue my trip. This hotel made the trip more pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abenameur, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor/ Saint Joseph.

As you and other guests discovered, we are fortunate to have a wonderful staff that will do whatever it takes to provide our guests with memorable experiences and turn a bad day into a great one.

I hope you'll visit us in better circumstances and enjoy what the area has to offer.

Warm Regards,

Andy Benameur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    41
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
45
19
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is very nice and new. I was warmly greeted at front desk, As Priority Club member we were given welcome bags with bottled water and a snack. Warm fresh baked cookies were also at front desk. Room was very nice and bed very comfortable. Had a large selection for breakfast, and a manager stopped to ask us if everything was ok. All staff were very pleasant. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear 72Cricket,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor, Michigan. Our staff strives to provide a warm, welcoming experience for all of our guests. I am happy we provided this for you.

Please come again very soon!

Warm Regards,

Joyce Santure
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday, October 12th. I don't know what all the negative reviews are about. I found the hotel to be updated, clean, and quiet. We had a king room with jacuzzi, separate shower, sitting room, sink & refrigerator. We stay at hotels often, and believe me, I am pretty picky, but there was nothing wrong with our stay. The only negative is that it's about a 5 minute drive to St. Joseph, which is really the tourist area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Lori V,

Thank you for staying with us here at Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor, Michigan. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and that your room was satisfactory.

Please come again soon!

Warm Regards,

Joyce Santure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was very nice and very clean. All lamps and furniture in good repair. Appeared to be a newer hotel. Bed was average and sheets were good, but not excellent. Close to freeway. Buffet looked nice although we did not eat there. Floors clean and elevator clean. Liked the free newspaper. We are in the points club and we got a water bottle and a bag of chips upon check in. We were asked multiple times, whenever we passed the desk or checked in if they could do anything for us. Impressive but almost uncomfortable. Slept well here for two nights. Hotel was quiet. Bathroom comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Laurie Susan,

Thank You for choosing Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor, Michigan. Also, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take all reviews seriously. We enjoyed your visit with us and invite you to, please, come again.

Warm Regards,

Joyce Santure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel for about one month, before we find a house to move in. Services are excellent by all their staff and managers, which made us feel at home for the long stay.
I once stayed in this hotel several years ago, and have been surprised to find such an improvement in the quality of service now... Free 24H-coffee, free breakfest and even occasional free buffet dinner in the evening are nice, not to mention the guest swimming pool with SPA spray and a gym room, but they would mean nothing if we were not treated with considerate care and hospitable manner by all their staff.
A great experience we have got, and wish them keeping all the great job, for the best of their guests and for their staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Wansheng,

Thank you so much for staying with us. Our staff at Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor Michigan thoroughly enjoyed having you here. Please come and stay with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

April Ott
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Close to Saint Joseph, always a fun time in this location. The hotel is about 5-7 miles to the beach and close to other attractions. The hotel is very clean with a pool for entertaining the children. There is a hot breakfast buffet style that is nice not to have to pay extra for food. It is in a safe location close to the interstate so one can rapidly get on the highway. This is the second time we have stayed here and we enjoyed it each time.

Room Tip: we had the king suite and it was a very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear jgata,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Also, thank you for coming back once again to stay with us. Our staff at Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor Michigan was glad to be of service to you.

We would like to invite you to come stay with us in the future.

Warm Regards,

Joyce Santure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Spent six nights here recently and found this hotel a solid choice. It was well-staffed, clean and convenient for our needs. Even with I94 almost in the parking lot, it was quiet at night. The rooms were easily darkened and I slept well. Rooms, baths and linens clean and fresh. Nice indoor pool. HIE standard breakfast-think what you will. Fresh coffee all day. A very nice staff-and we got a good rate. Location made trips to local beaches quick and easy. Not the Ritz, but a solid value in a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear 415AZP415 ,

Thank you for staying with us here at Holiday Inn Express in Benton Harbor, Michigan! We strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. Our staff was happy to accomplish this for you during your time with us.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm Regards,
Joyce Santure
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor

Address: 2276 Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph. We are conveniently located one block south of I-94 at exit 29, a short drive to any destination in Benton Harbor and St. Joseph. Do you enjoy the water? We are located only 5 miles from Lake Michigan and Silver Beach and Warren Dunes.Our corporate travelers appreciate our high-speed Internet, business center and fitness room, while our families enjoy the crystal-clear indoor pool and spa. All our guests enjoy the convenience of our Express Start Breakfast , 'Still Free, Now Hot', with our signature cinnamon rolls, mouth watering buttermilk biscuits, country sausage gravy and so much more.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor/St. Joseph, with its convenient meeting room for 40 and outstanding service, is the perfect place for your small corporate meetings.Businesses near hotel: Whirlpool, AEP, Menasha, VAI, Leco,D.C Cook Nuclear Plant, Crossroads and Lakeland Regional Medical CenterAttractions near hotel: New Buffalo's newest attraction, The Four Winds Casino Resort, The Mendel Center, Lake Michigan College, Orchard's Mall, Treemendous Fruit Farms, Jolly Orchards, Berrien County Youth Fairgrounds, The Livery, Andrews University and Western Michigan University. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Benton Harbor / St. Joseph. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor Hotel Benton Harbor
Holiday Inn Benton Harbor
Benton Harbor Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Benton Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.