We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cravings Bistro and Pub

Cravings Bistro and Pub
1599 B Mall Drive, Benton Harbor, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: http://www.bundle.com/merchant/detail/cravings-bistro-and-pub-benton-harbor-mi-22022208/
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Unimpressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our waitress Alyssa was great. Food was overcooked and took forever to come out. Would not come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Sleeper Restaurant in Benton Harbor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Once again, we trusted the Trip Advisor community and we were pleased we did. Rather than drive up to South Haven and wait 45 minutes for a table at a so-so restaurant, we chose to visit Cravings in Benton Harbor. Our party of 7 was seated immediately. Service was good, beer was cold and paella was outstanding. Don't be scared of this restaurant's location -- the food is much better than the exterior might suggest. Trust us!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Really good, but empty on a Saturday night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food was excellent here, but a little pricy for the area. On the other hand, we would have been pleased eating food this quality and tasty in any big city. For a "sports bar" atmosphere, not very lively on a Saturday night. After 9 pm, they were offering craft beers on tap for $3 (normally $5 to $6) and wings for $.50/wing. While this was not advertised (we overheard another waiter talking about this), this was a pleasant surprise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great local find. Looks like it might not be all that great from the exterior. Adjacent to an old strip mall, but once inside, the place looks really nice. My wife and I went really late for dinner (at 9 pm) but we were seated in the main dining area which was nearly empty at the time. We shared an appetizer (pork belly nachos) which was really good. We both ordered fish for dinner, the wife had seared tilapia and I had plantain encrusted salmon. Both were awesome. My side was fried plantains, to which my wife asked "why have we not eaten here before?". Overall, the place was really nice and our server Melissa was very nice and helpful. She was attentive, without being bothersome. We will definitely be back and will bring friends!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great surprise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

OMgosh! This local joint just hadn't caught my interest until a friend of ours from out of state who is in town for some time recommended it. We finally went and I am kicking myself for not trying it earlier. Unbelievably awesome! Menu is unique which is exactly what we CRAVE! Had Lobster Bisque! Fantastic! Had fried plantains! My new favorite food. Mellissa our server was wonderful and had great advice on what to order. This is now one of the local joints we will routinely eat at. And we eat out a lot. Go there! Do not miss out! I am so super satisfied right now!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cravings Bistro and Pub also viewed

Benton Harbor, Berrien County
Benton Harbor, Berrien County
 
Benton Harbor, Berrien County
Benton Harbor, Berrien County
 

Been to Cravings Bistro and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cravings Bistro and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.