We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Benton Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Benton Harbor to your Saves list
Motel 6 Benton Harbor
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   2063 Pipestone Rd, I-94 at Exit 29/Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
2,170 helpful votes 2,170 helpful votes
“First timer...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was my first time staying at a Motel 6. While in Benton Harbor, MI, I had a minor mechanical issue with my RV and had to spend the night. Chose this Motel 6 as it was a short walk from where my RV was being repaired. I found that the staff there to be somewhat deceitful as I had made the reservation online prior to walking over to the Motel to check in. On arrival, the rate that I had been quoted online was not correct and wanted to charge me ten bucks more. I showed him the email confirmation I received and he relented to the quoted price. Ideally, you do not want to deal with people like this. The room was however clean, and the A/C worked properly. Surprisingly, the bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean. Aside from the management, the only other complaint is the walls are super thin and our neighbors were disruptive until around midnight. I seriously doubt that I could recommend Motel 6 franchises if this is an example of how they are run. Not sure what else is in the area within walking distance of where my RV was being repaired, however, should I ever get stuck in Benton Harbor again, Motel 6 will definitely will not be on list of accommodations. If you in the area, suggest you look elsewhere if needing accommodations.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    4
    31
See reviews for
11
6
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, the owner was arguing with the customer ahead of us because they apparently couldn't understand what the customer was saying (owners are South Asian). Our keys didn't work because the battery in the door was dead, so we had to have the owners let us back in every time we left the room. The room smelled musty, and both the toilet seat and flush lever were broken. I would drive 100 miles to another hotel before staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

At check in I was repeatedly asked by the indian owner if I had anyone else traveling with me EVEN though I told him NO- SEVERAL times. Apparently their rates are charged per person and not based on how many beds are in the room. Most places a standard room will accomodate up to 2 people, apparently not here. After being asked the 3rd time, I finally said, do you want to check my car trunk to see if there is anyone else traveling with me? I was then told that they do a "bed check" and knock on doors to see how many people are occupying the room around 10pm. At that point I demanded my money back and left to go down the street to the Red Roof Inn. No freakin way is a piece of crap motel going to invade my privacy like that!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Made reservation through THEIR website for the next night.
While traveling to the motel, I get an email and voicemail telling me that I'm being charged NEARLY DOUBLE.
Their reason?
For some reason there MIGHT have been a problem with the website that gave us the lower price (on par with local rates).
When I told them I had a confirmation with the original rate, the 'owner' began talking over me saying he wouldn't accept it and that I would be charged the new rate.
Finally through their customer service they lowered the rate to a mid point, we took it so we didn't have to go look anywhere else.
Rooms were TRASH.. The roaches had bed bugs, and the bed bugs had cancer from eating the trash on the floor.
NEVER AGAIN.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was late and the snow was blowing all over the place as we attempted the three-hour drive from Holland, Michigan to Chicago. We were tired and just wanted a bed and checked into the Motel 6 in Benton Harbor.

This is probably the most basic room I've ever stayed in - there was a bed (comfortable), desk, dresser, shower, fridge and microwave. It wasn't pretty but it wasn't dirty or scary. The room was quiet even tho the rooms on either side of us were also occupies, and it had everything we needed for the one night until we could get back on the road. Also the price for the night was extremely cheap.

Would I stay here for more than one night if I was planning a trip? Probably not. But it was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The carpet was filthy, the drapes did not close all the way an the staff was very uncaring. I actually fell coming out of the room , forgot the very high step , and broke my wrist. When told about this incident, they showed no concern, not even asking if I was ok. They did not even have us fill out incident report to protect themselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Benton Harbor, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear pinkpegasus1019,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay. Please kindly contact our Guest Relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and our other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is the worst place I have ever stayed. DO NOT stay here! We were travelling late at night and this was the only thing with a vacancy in Benton Harbor. It looked a little sketchy when we pulled up but the clerk assured me she would put us in a good room. The room stunk like smoke and cheap cleaner. As I was unloading - I was approached by a guy on a bike begging for money - it felt like my options were to give it to him or have our vehicle broken into during the night. The beds were hard and uncomfortable, pillows were small and blanket was thin. I woke up with a back ache and tired. As we loaded up the begger showed up again. I complained to the front desk when checking out. They were not helpful and brushed off my complaints. This is basically a spot for long term guests - driving through the parking lot felt like driving through an inner city slum. I'm just happy we made it out with all of our belongings and didn't get mugged. We don't have high standards and are usually happy with a bed an a decent show. This place is awful! On top of it - it is NOT SAFE!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Benton Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Benton Harbor

Address: 2063 Pipestone Rd, I-94 at Exit 29/Pipestone Rd, Benton Harbor, MI 49022
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Benton Harbor 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Benton Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Motel Six
Benton Harbor Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Benton Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.