We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For emergencies it may be OK” 1 of 5 stars
Review of American Inn

Save Saved
You added American Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
American Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1950 East Napier Avenue, Benton Harbor, MI 49022 (Formerly Knights Inn Benton Harbor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Benton Harbor
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“For emergencies it may be OK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very low quality facilities. Try to plan and avoid having very little choices. It needs an overhaul, specially the beding. I is in truck stop, therefore noisy. People are nice....

There is not a lot to say to get to 200 words. No muy bueno, pretty bad, it is a aceap place, but it was also expensive. It could

Room Tip: Choose in advanve and avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    3
    22
See reviews for
8
5
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The only way I would stay here again is...well, I wouldn't, I'd sleep in the car first. The bathroom was very dark with only one light over the sink, although that may have been a blessing in disguise. The room was small and not particularly clean. One of the lights wasn't working so the front desk gave me a bulb-that didn't fix it. Fully 1/3 of the tv channels didn't work. The walls seemed to be paper thin.
Even though it's cheap, don't do it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is disgusting. The whole atmosphere to this hotel is dark and dirty. The room and hallways smelled musty. The linens looked clean but smelled musty like the room. The beds were very uncomfortable.There was mold in the bathroom. The soap was the size of a dinner mint and there was no shampoo. Not even at the front desk. The vending machines were either empty or out of order. The bathroom was not restocked with towels or faceclothes. The desk was dirty and sticky all over. Continental breakfast consisted of stale donuts, bread and cereal. They did not even carry sugar substitute. There was no butter for the toast or silverwear to spread the jelly that was offered. My family and I were desperate for a hotel that night however the next time we will sleep in the car. .

Room Tip: Stay away from this place evn if you are desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I have been on the road for 30 days and his is by far the worst hotel I have stayed in. It is supposed to be non smoking but the room smells so badly the night person brought up spray. I had to open the cracked window with tap securing th glass and open the hallway door to air it out. The bed sags too and furnishing is sparse and old. I asked for a discount and got just a shrug. This is not cheap, $90 and the only reason I stayed is that I am on a motorcycle, it is late and raining, and I could not find another room as all hotels are booked. I should have ridden in the dark rather than stay here.

Room Tip: Drive past this hotel even if late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Awful!!! Don't stay here unless you are desperate!! It is right next to a truck stop and difficult to get to and it is so not worth it. It is very inexpensive but you really feel like you will get something staying here. The bed was not comfortable and the bathroom had many rust areas. This hotel is absolutely desperate for an overhaul! The staff was distant and unresponsive. There was no remote for the TV in the room. Avoid it.

Room Tip: Unusual guests stay here looks like long term so there the 2nd floor definitely should be avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Trying to help someone out for a few nights our church paid for four nights for them to stay. We found a shelter that would be better able to help this person. We checked the person out before 11:00 the second day and only then found out that there was a little contract that if you didn't want a refund within the first 1/2 hour there were no refunds. Two of us spoke with the them about getting $72.25 back for the nights not used but they refused. They are heartless thieves willing to bilk a church and take advantage of the unfortunate. So far I have spoken to 3 levels of Customer dis-Service of the Knights Inn/Windham Group and received so many sorrys that I told them I didn't want to hear any more. They told me that I had signed a contract and that since it was an independently owned and operated motel I would have to work it out with the motel management. I reminded them that their name was on the motel. AVOID THE KNIGHTS INN AND WINDHAM GROUP of hotels. They have no customer service they don't know what it even is!! I didn't even push them on what a rat hole the place is. The walls had obvious damage and other areas needed maintenance.

Room Tip: There are NO GOOD ROOMS in this hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The manager of the Knights Inn not only got paid cash for the room for the night but stole $142.53 off my debit card for no service at all. I had got the room through priceline.com and I would never deal with them again either - they apparently gave up my debit card information to the Knights Inn and now I am out $142.53. Would never deal with this hotel or the Wyndham Group again. That is the hotel chain that owns the Knights Inn. Remember to watch your money - they do not refund.

Room Tip: Another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Inn

Address: 1950 East Napier Avenue, Benton Harbor, MI 49022 (Formerly Knights Inn Benton Harbor)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 hotels in Benton Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.