We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to grab a beer and the game!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny's on the Lake

Johnny's on the Lake
146 High Street, Belleville, MI 48111
(734) 699-1777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 69 Restaurants in Belleville
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great to grab a beer and the game!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Always a great place for a beer and a app! Catch a game or just meet up with a friend or too! Love it in the summer for outdoor seating!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Solid Bar Food on Lovely Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

First, to address some of the older reviews, we have gone here for years and never experienced racist issues or seen any of the other problems cited--it has changed hands a number of times and at times some staff had not been the best, but nothing that I have not seen elsewhere. Our server this time greeted us at the door, followed us to the tables by the water, was consistently friendly and attentive, and overall provided very nice service. The food as served quickly and was hot and fresh--our turkey club, salad, and casadia were all very nice. It remains one of our favorite places in the area, especially when we can sit outside by the lake.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I would love to come back during the Summer. This place sits right on the lake, bar atmosphere. We had dinner on a special ($6 meal with a drink purchase of any kind). There were out of a lot of local draft beer but still had plenty of options. I had the BBQ Pulled Pork, others with me ordered the Buffalo Chicken Pizza and BBQ Chicken Pizza which were both great. Our waitress brought us chips and salsa for an appetizer though it was not specifically on the menu. Lot's of TV's in the area with Keno, the Olympics, Jeopardy etc. (varied viewing).

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I truly do not know how this restaurant got the bad reviews. My husband and I have been there many times and have never been disappointed. The food and service was great!! Great view of the lake. They also have great specials. We look forward to going back. You must try the pretzel sandwich....so good. Also best French fries we have every had. Do not hesitate to enjoy a great meal at Johnny's!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The atmosphere was very racist will never go again!! The tables were dirty when they sat us there and it took several request for them to clean it

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's on the Lake also viewed

 

Been to Johnny's on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny's on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.