We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a great local beer?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Short's Brewing Company

Short's Brewing Company
121 North Bridge St., Bellaire, MI 49615
231-498-2300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Bellaire
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Looking for a great local beer?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We come to the Boyne Mtn area every year and stopped by Short's to try the local beer. I was truly amazed at what they've done! We got a sampler (5 beers for $10). They had an excellent selection of beers. We tasted some flavored beers and found that they were true to their description. I could actually taste the chocolate and peanuts in one. Another had the smokey BBQ taste. My favorite was the Brown Ale. Very smooth and delicious. They make a full range of beers. They also have started a hard cider collection.

I ordered the mushroom soup and instead of the usual soup, I got a soup that had freshly cut mushrooms and you could taste the earthy tones of the mushrooms! Great soup. Next was a nice sandwich equivalent to a Philly. Plenty of meat on it and it didn't last long. Even my wife said it was great.

We will definitely make this a regular stop. The atmosphere, food, and brews are outstanding. Our waiter was very knowledgeable of the area and helpful in helping us with our selections of beers. I think my wife made him describe every one on the selection list :)

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    77
    14
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Local Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Stopped in here to check out some of the local beer - was presently surprised with the creativity and the amount of different types of beer they offer. If youre a beer drinker they will have something for you. I didnt eat here - but those around me did, and the food like very good.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Bellaire attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Great beer. Great food. Fun music! We live in the Bellaire area and Short's attracts people from across the state and remains a great tourist attraction.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Long drive but Beer was worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Drove from Traverse City area to Bellaire mainly to visit this awesome brewery. Had lunch there on a Sunday, and the Pub food was excellent, and the beer was fantastic. My wife and I each had our own five-pour sampler, and ended up taking two growlers home of our favorites. Great service- very knowledgeable about the beers available.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beer & Bands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Short's has a great, friendly, knowledgeable staff. I recommend trying to go early in the afternoon if you want the full Short's experience as they do get slammed just about every evening. On weekends they always have live music, usually have a Michigan based folk band. The beer is great, as long as craft brew is your thing. There are a few choices for those who are not brave enough to try some of their more interesting creations. Their menu is more deli style, nothing too fancy but I have never had a bad meal there. The pizza is great and the specials are always unique. Every spring they have a rocking anniversary party. I can't wait to see the expansion when they are done!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Short's Brewing Company also viewed

Bellaire, Antrim County
 
Bellaire, Antrim County
Bellaire, Antrim County
 

Been to Short's Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Short's Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.