We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would visit again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village

Save Saved
You added Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5780 Shanty Creek Road, Bellaire, MI 49615   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Bellaire
michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We would visit again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have to start by stating that I grew up staying here on the weekends with my family and learned to ski at Schuss mtn. I have great memories of this resort and it hasn't change much, that's not necessarily a good thing though. The rooms have been updated to feel more contemporary, but a major investment is needed in the bones of this resort. First, getting to your room is a real hassle, up stairs, down stairs, a real pain when your hauling gear and 2 kids. The windows need to be replaced badly throughout the resort, gusts of wind flow through them. It's an okay place, the kids loved the pool and we'll go back for the right price. I know times are tough, but they could really use some significant upgrades. The staff was very nice, but not very helpful. Dining service was slow, menu is great in appearance, not in substance. Our room was never made up even after we spoke with the maid and explained we'd be gone for 3 hours and she said shed be back in 10 minutes. Oh, one more thing, think twice before using the vending machines and arcade games, I lost about $10 due to out of order, empty and broken machines that were unmarked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
25
25
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the rental property at Shanty Creek for three nights with a group of friends and had a great time! Our condo was a 3 bedroom 3 bathrooms, a nice kitchen, hot tub upstairs, and a great view! The condo was very clean, and nicely decorated. We were about a 5 minute drive from Schuss mountain which was very convenient for a group so large to come and go as desired. I would recommend staying to anyone looking for a nice place to sneak away to and wanting to embrace winter activities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is the second year my wife and I have stayed in a condo at Shanty Creek for a conference. This is also the second year we have been underwhelmed. Condos are certainly not worth $250 a night! We rented the condo to have more room and a place for me to hang out while my wife was at her conference. The condos are very dated. Furnishings are shabby, walls and floor are very thin. I've been listening to the family staying upstairs for 2 days.

I hear the hotel is nicer with recent updates, although I have not seen any of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My husband and I made a reservation 3 weeks ago to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have reserved the King Spa Parlor at Summit Village with the ski package. I received a call today that there will be a snowmobile race (unknown to them at the time of our reservation) on our reserved weekend, closing Summit to skiing and occupying most of the resort. They offered to "upgrade" us to a suite at Cedar River for the weekend and informed us that there would still be skiing at Schuss Mountain. The "complementary upgrade" that was offered was valued at nearly $100 less per night and accommodations were not nearly as nice as we originally booked. We opted to cancel our stay altogether and requested a refund. It is now 10 days until our anniversary and we are without plans. Left with such short notice, rooms are unavailable at nearby resorts. This has been a very disappointing experience and I highly doubt we will ever stay or recommend Shanty Creek in the future. However, I will say that I at least appreciate the phone call notifying us of the change.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Overall it was lovely. We went there over Christmas break. The room was very nice. Did not merit the price, but it is a ski resort and they have to make their money when they can. Schuss Mountain within the resort was lovely for skiing. We had a great time. I would probably rent a condo at Cedar River next time. Tubing was great. The Shanty Creek resorts overall have improved a lot. There are some great real estate deals there too. You can get a condo at Schuss for about 10 Grand right now! We are going back next year. Highly recommend over Crystal or Boyne. This is Michigan Skiing...why would you pay Colorado prices!!! Schuss is not ridiculously expensive to ski and they have a lot of cool runs.

Room Tip: Google the name of the resort instead of using a hotel booking system. Hotel Rooms at Shanty Creek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a last minute room in the Traverse City area that was also pet friendly, and we decided on Summit Village based on the photos from the website and the cost of the room. When we arrived the women at the front desk were very nice and check-in only took a matter of minutes. We were given a room in a condo building that is seperate from the main building (if you bring your dog they are not permitted in the main building) and when we drove the car up to the condo building we could tell from the outside that the room was going to be just average. The room was decent size, but was in serious need of updating. It had outdated carpet, drapes and was just kind of tired. Also, the walls were ultra-thin, we could hear the guy above us talking on the phone, coughing and hear his TV quite clearly. The bed was comfortable however, and we had no other problems with the room. We weren't in there all that much, but from the photos on the website we were definitely expecting a little more. I will give a lot of credit to the staff, they were very helpful to us. Our dog got a very serious cut on her leg and they gave us the number and address of the local animal hospital very quickly, and we had a few other small requests that were taken care of right away. I will say that the lodge is very nice, the rates for ski rental is very fair too. Would I stay at this resort again? Yes I would, but I would definitely leave the dog at home so I could get a room in the main building. Also, the little town of Bellaire that is 2 minutes from the resort is awesome and has some great restaurants and is filled with friendly people. If you have any questions about the resort please feel free to email me! Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Leave your dog at home, the pet friendly rooms aren't great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just got back from a one night stay at Shanty Creek resort (we stayed in the hotel area.) The hotel rooms look just like they do online. They have been updated and basically remind me of a Best-Western type feel. Our stay wasn't bad- but we just didn't feel like we were somewhere special. The hotel is very old; you can just tell. It kind of smells funny.

We went in Oct and there wasn't too much to do.

We ate at the restaurant and enjoyed the fried cheese, and brie chicken wraps. They were expensive, although on the lower end of expensive. However, I did not like the lamb tips and couldn't eat them. My hubby ordered a $25 steak and it tasted really bad to both of us. I hate to say that b/c the service was extremely nice, but the food was a little lacking. They did cut our bill down b/c I couldn't eat the lamb; that was definitely nice of them.

Overall, would not stay again. Just doesn't feel like a 'resort' at all. We went to Boyne the day before and loved it. However, I guess it is a 3 star hotel but it felt like a best western or something comparable.

Room Tip: ASk for a lakeview if you get a room in the hotel area, otherwise, you will be looking at the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village

Address: 5780 Shanty Creek Road, Bellaire, MI 49615
Location: United States > Michigan > Antrim County > Bellaire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Bellaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host to the new $10 million Lakeview Hotel & Conference Center renovation, Summit Village offers inspiring views of Lake Bellaire, miles of untouched hardwood forests and out-the-door access to 12 skiing and snowboarding runs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village Hotel Bellaire
Shanty Creek Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanty Creek Resorts - Summit Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.