We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanty Creek Resorts

Shanty Creek Resorts
5780 Shanty Creek Rd, Bellaire, MI 49615
800-678-4111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Bellaire
Type: Golf Courses, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An iconic ski and golf resort in northern Michigan, Shanty Creek Resorts is a three-resort experiences in one. Its three villages of SCR (Summit, Cedar River and Schuss) span 4,500 acres across hardwood forests, rolling meadows and atop mountain bluffs with miles of scenic vistas. With nearly 500 lodging options, multiple dining venues, four award-winning golf courses, two ski mountains, an 8-lane tubing park, six terrain parks, and a fitness center and wellness spa, plus over 35,000 sq ft of conference and special event space, Shanty Creek Resorts has been an Up North destination for generations.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We do a lot of winter activities and when we can we drive to Shanty Creek or Boyne. last weekend we stayed at Shanty Creek and skied and boarded for four days. The terrain park was a huge with our kids. We had kids between 13 and 20. Several friends and cousins ranging from six to 25. There was plenty of snow and the snowmakers were running all night to get us even more.

The staff at Shanty is always so friendly. Whether it is the pro shop or the cafeteria, you will get friendly service. The guys and gals putting you on the chairlift are always upbeat and work hard to keep everyone in a good mood. We have bought gear in the proshop there over the years...and the staff is exceptionally knowledgeable and the prices just as good (sometimes) better than those in town.

We love staying there and enjoying the hot tubs and outdoor pools at night. Sometimes we will go to the health club at Schuss and once in a while splurge on massages.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    5
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice romantic winter getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

We went the first weekend of December which also happened to be Bellaires Christmas lighting & festivities. They made us feel so welcome the minute we got there. The restaurant at the resort had a date night dinner special. Two first class meals with wine for $25. Their desserts were elegant & delicious. The rooms were updated & very nice. Our room had a full kitchen fully stocked. There was a nice size bathroom with separate shower & jet tub. A fireplace & a balcony with views of ski slopes & lake. Gorgeous at sunset! The bed was a king and was very comfortable. The people are so kind & made us feel right at home. The soup cook off in Bellaires is fun & something you should do when you go. The shops are quaint & they all have very unique items. Love the shopkeepers too! Definitely going back this time with the kids!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Over-all good family experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

There were skiing deals for our trip both on Monday (4 for $44) and on Tuesday (2 for 1 super tickets). The equipment we rented was well maintained and it was easy to get the "right" gear. Our only complaint would be the restaurant and bar called Ivan's. We still ate there 3 times (location and lack of choices). We expected it to be expensive, but what we didn't expect was crappy service. We would wait when we got there for a server, wait for service, wait for our order, wait, wait, wait.......... And it was not even close to crowded. Plan ahead for meals if not staying on site.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the resort three years ago and had some check-in issues. The lady at the counter was very apologetic and upgraded our room. The management went one step further and sent us a voucher to use anytime.
The new management are extremely professional. My wife and I have since been to the resort and had a fantastic trip. I have also gone to the resort on a golf trip with friends and have never had a problem.
Do yourself a favor and go to the resort. You will enjoy the beauty, golf and food.

Visited September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Needs a facelift, but very "homey"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We only spent one night at Sawtooth. We had a great room with a beautiful view of green slopes, trees, meadows, and little bit of Lake Bellaire. A mother deer and her little fawn came out for about an hour snacking in the meadow. The view up at the Lakeview Restaurant is gorgeous. We had a great burger there and fresh made omelets the next AM. The room and building are def. older, but also felt retro. We had the RCI room with a full kitchen, bath, nice balcony. Nice, newer carpet. We both felt very "homey". Wish we would have stayed longer, but had already spent 2 days at Boyne Highlands. Staff very nice. Very peaceful. Would be a great place to take a family for a week for skiing. Will def. go back.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanty Creek Resorts also viewed

Bellaire, Antrim County
 
Bellaire, Antrim County
Bellaire, Antrim County
 

Been to Shanty Creek Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanty Creek Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.