We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried and true” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dalwhinnie Bakery and Deli

Dalwhinnie Bakery and Deli
38240 Michigan Ave, Beaver Island, MI 49782-5105
231-448-2736
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tried and true”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Dalwhinnie's is solid. Good food for breakfast and lunch. Good people too! I had oatmeal with quinoa and blueberries for breakfast my last morning on the island, just before the ferry left for Charlevoix. It was really good and had protein usually lacking in regular oatmeal. Their wraps and sandwiches are really good too and the baked goods look terrific. I can't vouch for them as I avoid gluten but I was tempted!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our best meal on Beaver Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were there mid-Sept '13 (off season) and got a carryout order for a couple of sandwiches for lunch. Both were wonderful with particularly fresh/tasty bread. Of the three restaurants we patronized on our brief BI trip this was easily the best tasting and freshest food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Top notch place for breakfast, friendly service. Wide variety of breakfast food, great baked goods. Homemade goodness with quality foods.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeeland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have eaten here before and it's really good for lunch. It's right in town and there's seating outside to people watch or plenty of room to sit inside. We had the whitefish quesadilla this time and you can't go wrong with fresh fish.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheboygan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Deli & Bakery!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited for lunch. I had the whitefish tacos (3 for $8.50), my husband had the burger with chips ($8.50) and my teen opted for a strawberry-cream cheese pastry & a creme filled donut $3.75--all were excellent! You place your order, get a number & get your drinks & then they bring the hot foods out to you & then you clean up after yourself. Indoor & outdoor eating--you pick your own seat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalwhinnie Bakery and Deli also viewed

Beaver Island, Charlevoix County
Beaver Island, Charlevoix County
 
Beaver Island, Charlevoix County
Beaver Island, Charlevoix County
 

Been to Dalwhinnie Bakery and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dalwhinnie Bakery and Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.