We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Inn

Bella Vista Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bear Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Vista Inn
Save
You added Bella Vista Inn to your Saves list
12273 US 31, PO Box 117, Bear Lake, MI 49614   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Lake
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

No, it's not a big commercial chain, so don't apply the same criteria. Pleasant hosts, comfortable beds, clean room and nice pool. They ask that the AC be shut off when you're out for an extended period... a very reasonable request.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
17
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have stayed at this Motel many times and it has always been a very positive experience. Owners are friendly, pool was clean and refreshing. The rooms are always very clean. I travel frequently and for the $$$ there is not a better value around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Pros: good location (restaurant next door, Bear Lake and a convenience store right across the street); very nice pool; room clean, plently of towels, soap, etc. (although no shampoo)
Cons: owners were cordial, at best (got a little snippy when trying to get ice from the "free ice" freezer in the office, apparently there is limit to how much you can take); continental breakfast was a little weak (plain bagels and a few muffins/danishes), beds are kind of lumpy (but pillows were good), window air conditioner worked but was VERY loud/rattled a lot
Would stay here again if needed but would not be my first choice

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I travel to the Manistee area regularly. There are many lodging options in all price ranges but relatively few accept pets. We rarely travel without our dog. I believe we've tried every pet friendly hotel/motel in the area and the Bella Vista Inn is easily the best value. It is convenient to Manistee, Onekama, Arcadia, Crystal Mountain and Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. It isn't luxurious but is well maintained. The grounds are quite nice and the rooms are comfortably appointed, quiet, clean and reasonably priced. I highly recommend it, particularly for those traveling as a family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brimley, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My family has stayed at this motel on multiple occasions and will continue to do so whenever in the area. The rooms are very clean. The showers are nice and hot and the beds are very comfortable. Most hotels have very stiff and starchy comforters on them, but theirs are very soft and warm.
Our children love the pool during the summer. There is a lot of patio furniture to use around the pool and on a patio next to the pool under a shaded tree.
The owners have always been very courteous and helpful. They know the area very well.
I would recommend this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our family took a quick weekend off to explore the great beauty of Northern Michigan. We stayed at the Bella Vista Inn. The rooms were spacious, clean, and staff made the weekend enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stay often at this property and always enjoy the stay. The owners are always on site and very helpfull if needed. Rooms are large and very clean, microwave and refrigerator are a nice touch. Location is close to casino and Crystal Mountian Resort. I travel over 115 nights a year, mostly for business, so when it's play time my wife and I enjoy a nice quiet motel that has some ammenties. This motel fits the ticket perfectly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Inn

Address: 12273 US 31, PO Box 117, Bear Lake, MI 49614
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Bear Lake
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bear Lake
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.