We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, except for a certain staff member” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Bay City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Bay City to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Bay City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4105 East Wilder Road, Bay City, MI 48706   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bay City
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great place, except for a certain staff member”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is definately everything a fairfield inn is supposed to be. A nice clean place to stay with an excellent clean breakfast. We were there with our kids hockey team for a tournament, and they graciously let us use the breakfast area room to do activities with the kids at night. The only issue was the woman working at the front desk at the time. She was quite annoyed with kids and gave them crap for everything. While you have to expect children to behave, as a parent I found her to go over the top, what do they expect when you have a hockey team there. If you want to bring your kids hockey team there, think twice if this staff member is working. I wish I got her name so I could have complained to the manager.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
17
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night. We found the evening desk staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful. We got there late, checked in, put our stuff away, and got something to eat before we tried the TV. It had no signal. The girl at the desk wanted to move us but we were already in after a long day and my wife was trying to take a shower. When she got done we found that the tub didn't drain. Again the girl at the desk wanted to help, but at this time of night all we wanted to do was to relax in piece. We didnt move rooms, the tub didnt get fixed, and the tv never worked. I talked to the assistant manage the next morning and she said she would try to get us some of our points back, but we never heard from her again. The room was clean but the furniture was scraped up, the wall tex was patched, all iin all they just dont take any pride in the hotel. If I didnt get it on points I would not have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bay City hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Fair price for a rather ordinary Fairfeild Inn property. Generally clean and close to a shopping mall and Walmart if you forgot something for your trip. Even though your practically in the mall parking lot the hotel was quiet at night during this weekend stay. Staff was friendly. No on-siite workout room.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

A one-night mid-week stay can be misleading as a hotel visit is depends on the behavior of those at the site on a given night, but this property met expecatations for a short-stay at reasonably low cost. Positives are the flat-screen TV with HD channels and free Wi-Fi. There seem to be varying degrees of style in fairfields and this property leans to the basic level of bare-bones but comfortable furnishings. Staff was welcoming and helpful. Location is convenient. The rooms have a window AC/Heater unit but instead of the poor dial design for temperature these units had plus-minus buttons and a temperature setting for by AC and heat which is a definite plus. The only thing keeping this from a 5-star rating is the belief that it is a roll of the dice and the stay is quality is predicated on getting a good room away from any noise and having other guests who emmulate similar behavior. Another long-standing criticism of the 3-story hotel property is the lighting that washes the exterior of the property to provide safety yet causes the rooms to be less than dark with shades drawn. Stay here for a night if you are in the area but there are risks associated with any choice in this price-point range of hotels.

Room Tip: Room 318 is in an area where there is no parking directly below as there are trees planted there and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hotel was very clean and staff was friendly. I have stayed in other hotels for about the same amount of money and had suites. I thought it was over priced for what it was. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and smelled good. The temperature in the room was very warm. Which was very uncomfortable for the summer days. Half of the tv channels were fuzzy and you were unable to watch them. I asked for extra towels and never received them. The indoor pool is nice, but only goes to 4 feet deep. The hot tub is hot!! Outside of the hotel is a mall, but a lot of the restaurants around the hotel/mall are closed down. Its very close to the boat ramp for Lake Huron, which if you wanted to boat or fish, would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night and were extremely pleased. We had great customer service from the moment we called to make a reservation. The staff was extremely friendly and always had a smile on their face. The room was clean and the continental breakfast had great choices. My kids loved the make it yourself Belgian waffles and the staff was constantly in the breakfast room checking to see if anything needed cleaning or more items were needed. It was a great hotel for a quick overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
400 helpful votes 400 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stopped here for one night while on a motorcycle ride. The hotel is easy to find in a built up area, with malls and large stores within walking distance as well as many restaurants.

The property is entirely smoke free, so I am not sure where the comment about the smell of smoke came from by another poster; I didn't smell even a hint of cigarette smell.

This property typlifies what you can expect and usually recieve from a Fairfield Inn:
-decent size and functional room and bathroom
-small indoor pool area
-clean room and common areas
-decent bed with nice sheets and pillows
-a quite and comfortable place to lay your head

My only two minor complaints would be the small "tube" TV in the room and the breakfast while OK, was somewhat underwelming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Bay City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Bay City

Address: 4105 East Wilder Road, Bay City, MI 48706
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Bay City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn Bay City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Bay City
Bay City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Bay City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.