We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than any motel, by far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Valley Hotel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Bay Valley Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Valley Hotel and Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2470 Old Bridge Road, Bay City, MI 48706   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Bay City
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“better than any motel, by far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

other reviews complaining just aren't true. they mention little things, no real faults at all- motel 6 does not do this good of a job, During a trip across michigan we searched for hotels to stay at in bay city, and after checking rates, policy, and availability we picked bay valley. this was a good decision. We checked into a decent sized room with a soaring ceiling, and had an above average breakfast the next morning. an odd amenity was the bath and body works products in the bathrooms instead of generic hotel soap. most other things were average, but nothing less- acceptable bed, older (cable) TV. no real things to complain about. A note as to the hotel schedule, check out , breakfast, and pool opening happen later than what i'm used to experiencing; this is great if you like to sleep in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    16
    16
    13
See reviews for
19
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Booked this hotel through priceline. The room was clean and at the end of the hall so relatively quiet. The lobby was clean and nice looking.

Nice clean shower.

I have traveled a lot and it was decent for being in Bay City, MI. Not exactly a booming area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwin, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

EVERYTHING the person who wrote the review from Jan 12th is absolutely the truth! I come from and still live in humble conditions on a farm and this place doesn't even rate above a Motel 6...at least THEY leave the light on for ya! I expressed how very important this visit was (a reunion with my husband after being gone 6 weeks) and NEVER have I been THIS disappointed. I might as well have taken my money and watched it burn! What a shameful waste! I am a very "giving" person when it comes to being pleased..so when I write a bad review...TRUST ME ...IT'S BAADD!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muddinangel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

HORRIBLE stay. In the first room the bed would knock up against the wall if you bumped it, we asked for another room and the front desk staff had no problem finding us another room. No frig, no microwave, and only a 19 inch TV. The room was either too cold or too hot and the lack of humidity left both my husband and I feeling sick the next morning. The bar staff was sub-par with the exception of our waitress. The staff seemed more interested in partying themselves than waiting on anyone. The bartender was a blonde bimbo that was more interested in flirting with the guys, then getting me my beer, then was rude enough to mumble something when I didn't tip her. TIP stands for To Insure Promptness - Get a clue, sweetie! There were people at 3 am outside our door having a great time, too bad we were still trying to sleep. The breakfast was ok, but you had to pay $5 for an omelet. I honestly think they are using the word "Resort" in the wrong context here. The whole place is a maze, going up and down stairs to get to your room, I was waiting for Jack Nicholson to come around one of the corners and scream, "Here's Johnny!"

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

I definitly will check Trip Advisor before I stay in a hotel like the Bay City Resort. If you are use to stayin in chain hotel, this hotel is not the one for you. The place is in need of a revonation, the roooms are very old.
I was there to attend a conference in Bay City, MI they play music in the Bar on Friday and Saturday nights. Kids ran up and down the halls late into the night (pass 1:00 am). The staff couldn't seem to control them. If I ever have to go back to Bay City, I will stay at the Doubletree

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed here during the Bay City Tall Ship Festival and it was full. When we arrived a 4pm our room was not yet ready and there were dozens of people sitting around the lobby with the same problem. There were a lot of workers at the check-in desk but only one seemed to know what was going on and they looked overwhelmed. An hour later we were given the key to our room but it didn't work and we had to go back to the front desk for another. The room itself was ok. The air conditioner couldn't keep up but it was the hottest day of the summer so I could understand that. The hotel is a bit dated even though you can tell that it was once a showplace when it was first built and the lobby still is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

I have been reading reviews from Tripadvisor for years. Every time I book a hotel or trying to decide between several hotels, I usually check the reviews on this site first. I have never written my own review though because usually I find the existing reviews give a good overall picture of each property. I feel compelled to write one for Bay Valley because I feel that the reviews here don't do it justice. It is one of the best value hotels I've ever stayed in. We paid $69 per night and includes a continental breakfast in the morning. The breakfast is not bad at all, including 4 types of cereal to choose from, bagels, danishes, fresh fruits, yogurt, boiled eggs, orange and cranberry juice, coffee, etc. We have a toddler so the breakfast was more than adequate for us. You can also pay an extra $5 for made to order omelet.

There's an indoor/ outdoor pool. And we liked that they opened the indoor pool part even when it was rainy outside. That gave us something to do on a rainy day. They also have Bath and Body Works toiletries. The staff and housekeeping crew were very friendly and helpful.

The location is a bit far from the center of town but if you have a car, it doesn't really matter anyways. It's right off of Interstate 75. The golf course is beautiful and we will definitely stay there again for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Valley Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Valley Hotel and Resort

Address: 2470 Old Bridge Road, Bay City, MI 48706
Location: United States > Michigan > Bay City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Bay City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Valley Hotel and Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Valley Resort is Mid-Michigan's finest full service golf resort and conference center, featuring 140 comfortable guest rooms, Full Service Restaurant, Lounge, a challenging 18 hole championship golf course designed by Desmond Muirhead, year-round, heated indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. Bay Valley Resort has over 10,000 square feet of meeting/banquet space that will accommodate up to 400 guests. Bay Valley Resort has an ideal location, in the heart of the Great Lakes Bay Region of Michigan, which includes the cities of Bay City, Saginaw and Midland, off I-75 at Exit 160. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bay Valley Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Valley Hotel Bay City
Bay City Valley Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Valley Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.