We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite restaurant in Bay City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Kitchen

American Kitchen
207 Center Avenue, Bay City, MI 48708
989-402-1366
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 134 Restaurants in Bay City
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Auburn, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant in Bay City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Such a great vibe! Good food, good atmosphere! Great prices! From the same owners as Old City Hall Restaurant in Bay City, comes American Kitchen. The menu is just right and they have a great selection of beers and wines as well. In the heart of the downtown area, AK is really picking up a following.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place for delicious burgers and a drink!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We love visiting the American Kitchen when we are in town. This place has the best burger in Bay City. You have to try the 50/50 burger which is made with ground bacon and beef and an overeasy egg on top. It is juicy and delicious. The cucumber martini was a refreshing way to end my day. The enviroment is that of a classy pub and the service is top notch. They offer a variety of tap beer and mixed drinks. The menu is somewhat limited to burgers and some signature dinner items. I would recommend this a place for lunch or dinner or even drinks after work.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I were shopping in Bay City and decided to try the American Kitchen. (We had heard that it was started by the chef of Old City Hall.) We arrvied early at 4:45 pm and were surprised how busy it was for dinner. We both ordered burgers. I had the fresh aspargus as my side while my husband had the sweet ptoato fries. When the burgers arrived, I thought they didn't look very big but I was wrong. They were quite thick and juicy! They were delicious! For a treat we also had the key lime pie. When the pie arrived, it was huge, a little on the tart side but very good!
We both agreed we would go back and try some of the other homemade items on the menu. As we were leaving, we noticed the restaurant was packed. I think that is a good testament of their food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not one of the better choices in Bay City”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We heard a local radio DJ talking about this great new place and decided to try. We went on a night that they were featuring their "Signature" dish Shepards Pie. I gave it a try- I've always liked a good Shepard's Pie. Well let me tell you- this WAS NOT a good shepards pie!!! It was not even a fair shpeards pie. It amounted to a few crumbles of ground beef swimming in a pool of gravy with a bunch of peas. A couple spoons of mashed potatoes floated on top. Flavorless- no substance, and it doesn't say much for the place if this is your "signature dish"

My husband had some sort of chicken dish that was fair but nothing to write home about. If you are looking for a good place to eat in the Bay City area, I would suggest you skip this one and try one of the other tastier places like Mulligan's Pub, Rattlesnake Ric's, The KingFish (which I just heard is under new ownership with a re-vamped menu and great location overlooking the river) Brooklyn Boys Italian restaurant, Tony's on columbus.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to American Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.