We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Hiking and Biking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay City State Recreation Area

Bay City State Recreation Area
Beaver Road, Bay City, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Attractions in Bay City
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Bay City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for Hiking and Biking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife son and I took an hour hike. there is a paved rail trail and there are areas of sand and gravel. Great for nature walk. camping also.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    22
    14
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We live nearby and camp there at least once a year great hiking and biking trails , nice town, close to area

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City Mi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could be........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

There's no reason for this not to be one of the best recreation areas in Mi. The water and beach leave little to be desired. Who wants to camp and not swim. Everything else about the area is wonderful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Family State Park, in Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This park is great because it is rural; but just miles away from BayCity if you forgot anything. Miles of paved bike trails run along the park that you can take and ride into Bay city, many hard gravel trails for bikes link up to the park also. There is walking trails that you can view nature. The camp ground is on one side of the main road; across the road is public access to pavilions, the nature trails, bike trails; interpretive center; ponds, and the by water. In the public access area is a water sprinkler park; good for ages less than 12. This park yearly has a Halloween weekend, which everyone celebrates with decorations in the park. You should check for those dates in Oct.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Get the DEQ out of our State Parks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

All the mandates the DEQ imposed on this park have totally ruined it. The ducks and geese can hang out in the Tobico Marsh. There's plenty of room for them there. As a kid I recall laying on a sandy beach that stretched for hundreds of feet along the park. Now we look at cat tail swamp and can barely catch a glimpse of the Bay. The cat tails catch all the silt and sludge that further contaminate our shore line in Bay City! The DEQ has prohibited them from cutting and maintaining the beach shore line. Thanks to the efforts of Ernie Krieger and the SOS group (Save Our Shoreline), they have returned some rights to the private property owners along the Bay. Suppoprt them! The stretch of beach you see here is WAY down on the north end of the park, almost out of the park. The shore is often filled with sediments and pollutants from farm run offs and highly contaminated Saginaw River. Be aware of ecoli alerts before swimmng there. Flint and Saginaw sewage plants overflow into the Saginaw River, bringing it to the mouth of the Saginaw River at the Bay. It's 2012 people!!! Who's paying off who, to avoid fixing the problem that has ruined our waterfront at this otherwise lovely park. The new splash zone is very nice. This way the kids can stay cool, have a blast and not contract a deadly disease from the Bay.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay City State Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Bay City State Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay City State Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.