We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Trying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Griffin Grill & Pub

Griffin Grill & Pub
38 Michigan Ave W, Battle Creek, MI 49017-3604
269-965-7206
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 138 Restaurants in Battle Creek
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: American, Irish, British, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
Description: The Griffin is an Old World Irish Pub that will make you feel comfortable and welcome. We offer a full service menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and have a reputation for the “Best Fish & Chips” in the area. Dine in and enjoy the great atmosphere inside or on either one of our outside, beer garden patios. You may also call ahead for your order to go. The Griffin has a full service bar as well as 36 draft beers from Michigan and around the world and is the only Pub in Battle Creek with 2 unique cask-conditioned, hand pulled ales. You can enjoy daily drink specials from 3pm until close, 14 color televisions for the best in collegiate and professional sports, as well as 5 dart lanes.
Kalkaska, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth Trying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stopped at the beginning of happy hour so the pub was not busy yet. Had the Friday special: corned beef and cabbage. Excellent, a must try. Great beer selection and good service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    9
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

After going to Arcadia Brewery earlier for lunch we tried here for dinner. Should have tried somewhere else. First had to walk through the cloud of smoke from the smokers right at the entrance. The service was slow, the food took quite awhile to get. I had the fish and chips which were pretty decent . Others had the Reuben which each said was below average.
Probably would not go back better choices elsewhere

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice pub, good service, friendly people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I spent the better part of an evening in this establishment in Downtown Battle Creek. The food was good enough, the specials ( half off appetizers and $1 off liquor on thursdays) were awesome and the atmosphere although nothing to write home about, was the best downtown Battle Creek had to offer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Beer selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My coworker and I dined at Griffin's in April 2013 during a business trip. Our server was excellent, very friendly, and the bar staff was great too (the bartender located a book of matches for me when I could not find my lighter). The beer list was extremely diverse, as I found a beer I had not had in a long time. Great choice for a quick and satisfying meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Griffin always has many beers on tap or bottled! One of my favorite places to go to try out new beers. The food is typical bar food, and it pretty good. Griffin's has a nice atmosphere and has a beautiful bar and woodwork throughout!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griffin Grill & Pub also viewed

Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 

Been to Griffin Grill & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griffin Grill & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.