We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurray for Clara's Battle Creek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clara's on the River

Clara's on the River
44 North McCamly, Battle Creek, MI 49017
269-963-0966
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 139 Restaurants in Battle Creek
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Battle Creek, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hurray for Clara's Battle Creek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Heard they were voted #1 on WWMT #3 News! Try the patio area mid week for great
entertainment. Menu has a wide variety, but we're stuck in rut of Cobb Salad or Fish Tacos
Created by kitchen staffer Emily! They are the best!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    60
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good Food-Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Clara's is a restored train depot which is in dire need of MORE restoration and remodeling. However, the food is wonderful, service is great and the outside patio is very nice during summer. Visited last week with family and they messed up my order.....the manager and waitress came together to tell me and offered to get me the right thing....I decided to try what I had and it was even better than what I ordered so kept it. They came back twice to make sure I was ok, and then brought me the dessert menu so I could order a free dessert even though I was happy what I ended up with. NOTE: the main part of the dining area is very noisy due to the high ceiling. If you want quieter eating, pick the area by the bar or in the back room. They are happy to accomodate.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lots of options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The menu had so many options, it was almost impossible to decide. If you want it, they have it. The food was absolutely delicious. It tasted homemade. The desserts were gigantic. Definitely get one to take home, though, because it's worth it.

We enjoyed sitting outside by the river. The dining room is really comfortable too. Even though they're usually very busy on the weekend, it wasn't too noisy, and the service was still pretty fast, considering it was Mothers Day.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good, fair prices, and a HUGE menu to choose from”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a party of 7 and had no problem finding options everyone liked. A nice historical experience that wasn't just 'another chain' restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, would definately comeback.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Food and service were good. Recommend sitting outside on a nice day. Inside needs some TLC...and new chairs.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clara's on the River also viewed

Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
Battle Creek, Calhoun County
 

Been to Clara's on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clara's on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.