We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lucky 7's Restaurant (Ojibwa Casino)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ojibwa Casino Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baraga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ojibwa Casino Hotel
797 Michigan Ave (Hwy M-38), Baraga, MI 49908   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Baraga
Baraga County
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Lucky 7's Restaurant (Ojibwa Casino)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This little restaurant has had many owners over the years, but this is about the newest ones. I went there on recommendation and yes, the decor is very old. It is clean, however and the staff friendly. I ordered a BLT and onion rings. The sandwich was very good, lots of bacon, had shredded lettuce. The onion rings were excellent and was quite a large serving. I hope this owner stays around for a while.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Michigan, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband, teenage sons, 2 elderly parents, and myself went to this hotel for a 4 day stay. Only stayed 1 night. The stale smoke smell permeated everything (horribly) even though the rooms were "no smoking", and the smell of disinfectant only made things worse. The beds "crunched" when you sat on them or rolled over due to plastic covers and were not comfortable. The air conditioner in one room (we had 2 rooms), clanked, banged and rumbled to the point of having to turn it off and on because the noise would drive us nuts. My son took a shower, walked around the room barefooted, and when he sat down on the crunchy bed; his feet were filthy from the carpet. The payouts in the casino were non-existent, even though the player "freebies" were decent. The pool water looked gray and reeked of chlorine and the pool room was stifling hot and humid. Not much else to do or places to go in Baraga. On the positive side: the staff was accommodating, and the Lucky 7 Restaurant had fabulous food.

Room Tip: Call and ask LOTS of questions - remember YOU are the customer and it is your money - you are entitl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

it looked like all of the senior citizens in the area were there spending their social security checks, in 2 hours i didnt see anyone win anything !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is connected to the Ojibwa Casino. This makes the entire place smell a little like smoke (people smoke in the casino). Very reasonably priced at $49/night. Included in this is a casino package ($5 cash, free rail drink, $5 certificate to gamble with). Had to change rooms once because of broken blinds. But they changed us, no problem. Has a small refrigerator and microwave in room. Hotel is 1 mi. up Route 38 from Lake Superior in Baraga, MI.

pros: inexpensive, casino package, bowling alley/bar, in beautiful Baraga, MI

cons: smoke smell, no iron or ironing board

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiaville, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

we rented 3 rooms for a week you would think the front desk staff would be a little nicer. they were the most unfriendly and rudest people I have ever met. we will not return to this casino again nor would i recommend it to friends or family. the manager was told of this problem and did not seem to care. the cashiers in the casino were all the same. the cleaning staff and bar tenders were all very nice and accommodating.the rates were very good and rooms clean. the pool needs to be monitored better( lots of young kids and no adults,could not use it cause they had to close it because of water level & chem level after kids were done in it).upper management should rethink their staff. might get more customers.we also asked for certain accommodations for all 3 rooms and they were totally ignored

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Great value $49/night (comes w/Casino Package: $5 cash, Free rail drink, 2 - $5 matching bet)!

Halls smelled of smoke though. Don't stay here if you have bad allergies.

We had 2 rooms (1 had a mini fridge, 1 did not). No idea why.

Has indoor pool and whirlpool (chlorine too strong).

Pros: Very cheap, clean, proximity to metropolitan Baraga and area natural attractions, Casino, pool, and bowling on site.

Cons: Smokey smelling everywhere, chlorine very strong in pool, room cards kept de-magnetizing.

Room Tip: Ask for a mini fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLADSTONE
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I have been going to Baraga for quite a few years now and always enjoy staying at the Ojibwa Hotel. Rooms have always been very comfortable and very inexpensive. We also enjoy their Sports Bar area just off of the casino. Will always stay here when in Baraga!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ojibwa Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojibwa Casino Hotel

Address: 797 Michigan Ave (Hwy M-38), Baraga, MI 49908
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Baraga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Baraga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Ojibwa Hotel Baraga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ojibwa Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ojibwa Casino Hotel to your Saves list