We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a Gem in Bad Axe Michigan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameriway Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Ameriway Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ameriway Inn and Suites
898 North Van Dyke, Bad Axe, MI 48413   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Rochester, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite a Gem in Bad Axe Michigan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at the Ameriway Inn during a fishing trip on July 4 The hotel was very clean, which was our main requirement but we were truly amazed by the personal service we received. During check in we were informed that breakfast would be served at 6:30. We said thanks but we would be on the lake fishing by 5:00, so we couldn't take advantage of the complimentary breakfast. We were amazed when she asked what time we would like breakfast. She made sure that breakfast was available at 4:00 the next morning. I can't think of any hotel that would make special arrangements to provide breakfast for three hungry fisherman at 4 in the morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone charter fishing in Port Austin, since the hotel is only 15 minutes from the lake, it was clean and quiet and the rate was half of what we would have paid in Port Austin. Will definitely stay there next year. What a gem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our King room was nice and clean. The bed was good. I prefer better bed linens, these were very thin. The room had space for a nice sitting chair but the only chair was like a waiting room chair.
What made the stay above average was the friendly staff, Both evening and morning front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. Another plus was that they allowed our dog in the room for $10 extra, we were expecting to have him sleep in the car.
Wish I would have had time to use the pool, was small but appeared nice and clean.
The breakfast room was very small, and very limited, but everything was fresh and the room was clean. Would stay here again

Room Tip: They allow your dog to stay for $10 extra. Has 2 floors and no elevator, so book early and ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altenburg, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The King room was clean and in very good condition. The breakfast was simple; waffles, toast, cereal, and a limited juice choice. A more complete breakfast would be nice, but for the price of the room, I have no compaints. Will stay here again when in area.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites but just changed names in Nov I think. Same owner and help, just a name change and still a great hotel. I did notice they have iron boards and irons in every room and hair dryers. Nice addition. Still the same friendly staff that goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. My Grandkids love this place for a night get away in the gloom of winter.

Room Tip: The suite isn't that much more than a standard room and well worth the few extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I travel the country for business and frankly I'm fussy about hotel stays. I was concerned because this time my wife was traveling with me and I wanted her to be satisfied with our stay. This one hit a 'home run'. The lobby area was the first clue that we were in the right place. Add in the thoughtfulness of the desk staff, the fitness center, the amenities and and large comfortable room and I am sure we will be back. You wont be disappointed. Oh, and there is a restaurant on site.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Large, clean room at a great price. Found everyone I dealt with on the staff friendly and happy to help. The waffle iron with the breakfast was a surprisingly good touch, the lady responsible for the area was in twice during my quick meal to check on things. Will happily stay again next time I'm there for hunting. Also, the name has changed to Ameriway

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this hotel as a recommendation from TripAdvisor. The room sizes were large, front check-in area was welcoming with tea and candy on the counter. The fire was going and the staff member that checked us in was very efficient and welcoming. The pool and hot tub were clean and the breakfast was good for the whole family. Everything was clean and welcoming.

The only drawbacks were the condition of the roll-away bed (springs missing) and the overall comfort of the bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameriway Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameriway Inn and Suites

Address: 898 North Van Dyke, Bad Axe, MI 48413
Location: United States > Michigan > Bad Axe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ameriway Inn & Suites of Bad Axe, Michigan is located in the Thumb of Michigan, approximately 20 miles east west & south of Lake Huron. It is just a short drive away from a day at the beach with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ameriway Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bad Axe
Bad Axe Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameriway Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.