We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here while visiting realtives in Port Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Rapson Lane West, Bad Axe, MI 48413   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Niagara Falls, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stayed here while visiting realtives in Port Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My family for the last 4 years have been traveling to Port Austin to visit relatives who have a place right on the beach. The place they own on the beach is not big enough to accommodate my family consisting of my wife and two boys ages 3 and 4 so we have stayed at places in Port Austin and recently have stayed at this Holiday Inn Express. Port Austin has many choices as far as places to stay but none of them are chain hotels and most of them are very small and pricey due to the location. We tried to stay at 2 different places in our first two years and found ourselves disappointed due to the size of the rooms and the price. We stumbled upon Bad Axe when we need to get things from the Wal-Mart that is in Bad Axe and decided to book the Holiday Inn Express last year and again this year. The hotel is very clean and comes with a reasonable price. The hotel includes breakfast in the morning which is a nice added feature and the rooms are big and clean. The staff were all great both times but cecilla who works in the dining area is overly pleasant and really does a great job while talking with everyone who comes in the dining area. Any family that is traveling to Port Austin should consider staying here because it is only 15 miles away from Port Austin. The heated indoor pool and hot tub are an added feature which make this property great as our kids swim like to go swimming in the pool after a day at the beach. Great Property and I look forward to next years trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Happy to hear that your family enjoyed the amenities that we offer along with the local attractions. We are looking forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    8
    7
    14
See reviews for
19
8
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We guaranteed a room with a credit card a month prior to our arrival. Gary, GM, gave our room away to somebody else and the hotel was booked upon arrival. His attitude was "too bad, find a room someplace else." It was 10:00pm with a tired and hungry young family. We were asked to leave when we said, "You can't do this. We guaranteed the room." This seems to be a repeating theme with others on here – Hughes-101, g.p., Vicki 1027, Ryan C. What's surprising is that corporate would allow Gary (Owner) to continue to have the Holiday Inn name associated with this hotel. Holiday Inn has never been known for such unprofessionalism.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Paradisetanks,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

They were very courteous and nice. The pool is a little small but clean. Our room was clean and comfortable but it could have used some repairs. For instance the shower curtain rod was loose and the curtain falling to the middle and the bathroom would get wet when taking a shower, the toilet seat kept sliding around and some of the wallpaper was peeling.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Sorry your room wasn't in perfect condition when you arrived. We appreciate you letting us know of the problems so we can correct our imperfections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blytheville, Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had guaranteed room reservations on a business trip. The hotel sold our rooms at a higher rate to someone else without contacting us, so when we went to check in we had no rooms. It was late we had children with us who were very tired and hungry. Hotel offered no help in finding our family us room. We were stranded after driving all day with no where to let our children rest. Hotel staff was rude and took no responsibility for their error. Seth the front desk clerk advised it was our problem and he couldn't and wouldn't help. Do not stay at this hotel they only care about the money they can make on the rooms and not about their priority club members or their families.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Hughes-101,

Thank you for taking time to post a review and for being a member of our IHG Rewards Club program. I am sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with your reservation and with our hotel staff. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deckerville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family of six stayed here on New Year's Eve and we couldn't have been happier with our room, the hospitality and our overall stay. The pool was delightful and breakfast was great! Our room was spacious which was wonderful with four kids. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

What friendly and efficient service! My room was spotless with heat and lights on, hot water for tea and a cookie. They recommended a nearby restaurant for dinner and were simply great! I would def return here and encourage anyone to stay. Lovely pool and hot tub, exercise room, comfortable bed, frig in room, and a table on which to work. Personalized service, too! Wow!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bad axe
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

G is the "managing partner" of this establishment and needs to work on customer service. On my wedding day, I stopped into the hotel to check into our room. At that time I asked for a discount for one of our guests. The hotel had made a mistake and charged one of our guests double what the other guests were paying. What should have been a simple discussion with G turned into a wedding day nightmare. G and I disagreed on the solution to the problem. He became very difficult and subsequently confrontational, telling me "this conversation is over" multiple times and turning away. I told him that it was okay if he could not resolve the problem, but that I would like the contact information for a superior. G gave me a card, which I later discovered was his own! When I discovered it was his card, I returned to the hotel to obtain the information I needed. At that time G told me "If there continued to be any further contention, maybe we need to make a change." When I asked him what that meant, he said "maybe this isn't the hotel for you". Wow. So if you see G, ask him to buy you a drink with the extra money he made from our guest as the "owner and manager" of this hotel. Make it a stiff one, because this guy obviously needs to relieve some stress instead of attacking brides on their wedding day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe

Address: 55 Rapson Lane West, Bad Axe, MI 48413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Bad Axe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bad Axe is an exceptional facility from its beautiful decor, to its outstanding level of service. We are conveniently located in the Thumb of Michigan, just 20 miles from Lake Huron. Inside our hotel you will find spacious guest rooms all equipped with hairdryers, iron and boards, coffee makers and remote control TV. 2 phone with 2 lines and data port. Our Queen Suites include microwaves, refrigerators and comfortable lounging area. We also have Jacuzzi Suites that have the Jacuzzi in the bedroom with a king size bed and all the amenities that our queen suites have. Visit our indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center and game room. Don't forget to try our continental breakfast, every morning from 6:00 am till 10:00am. Visit Bad Axe, MI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Credit card is required for stay. Cash payments are accepted upon checkout with prior authorization of a credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe Hotel Bad Axe
Holiday Inn Bad Axe
Bad Axe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.