We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but could use a little maintenance.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Rapson Lane West, Bad Axe, MI 48413   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very clean but could use a little maintenance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

They were very courteous and nice. The pool is a little small but clean. Our room was clean and comfortable but it could have used some repairs. For instance the shower curtain rod was loose and the curtain falling to the middle and the bathroom would get wet when taking a shower, the toilet seat kept sliding around and some of the wallpaper was peeling.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAG1132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Sorry your room wasn't in perfect condition when you arrived. We appreciate you letting us know of the problems so we can correct our imperfections.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Blytheville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We had guaranteed room reservations on a business trip. The hotel sold our rooms at a higher rate to someone else without contacting us, so when we went to check in we had no rooms. It was late we had children with us who were very tired and hungry. Hotel offered no help in finding our family us room. We were stranded after driving all day with no where to let our children rest. Hotel staff was rude and took no responsibility for their error. Seth the front desk clerk advised it was our problem and he couldn't and wouldn't help. Do not stay at this hotel they only care about the money they can make on the rooms and not about their priority club members or their families.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hughes-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Hughes-101,

Thank you for taking time to post a review and for being a member of our IHG Rewards Club program. I am sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with your reservation and with our hotel staff. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bad Axe hotels

Deckerville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family of six stayed here on New Year's Eve and we couldn't have been happier with our room, the hospitality and our overall stay. The pool was delightful and breakfast was great! Our room was spacious which was wonderful with four kids. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Busymom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

What friendly and efficient service! My room was spotless with heat and lights on, hot water for tea and a cookie. They recommended a nearby restaurant for dinner and were simply great! I would def return here and encourage anyone to stay. Lovely pool and hot tub, exercise room, comfortable bed, frig in room, and a table on which to work. Personalized service, too! Wow!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michigamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bad axe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

G is the "managing partner" of this establishment and needs to work on customer service. On my wedding day, I stopped into the hotel to check into our room. At that time I asked for a discount for one of our guests. The hotel had made a mistake and charged one of our guests double what the other guests were paying. What should have been a simple discussion with G turned into a wedding day nightmare. G and I disagreed on the solution to the problem. He became very difficult and subsequently confrontational, telling me "this conversation is over" multiple times and turning away. I told him that it was okay if he could not resolve the problem, but that I would like the contact information for a superior. G gave me a card, which I later discovered was his own! When I discovered it was his card, I returned to the hotel to obtain the information I needed. At that time G told me "If there continued to be any further contention, maybe we need to make a change." When I asked him what that meant, he said "maybe this isn't the hotel for you". Wow. So if you see G, ask him to buy you a drink with the extra money he made from our guest as the "owner and manager" of this hotel. Make it a stiff one, because this guy obviously needs to relieve some stress instead of attacking brides on their wedding day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank g p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Located in a rural area, we were pleasantly surprised by the modern updates to the hotel. Stayed 2 nights for a family member's wedding. Staff were friendly and helpful upon arrival. We had two suites which were located near each other as requested. The rooms were spacious, nicely appointed and very clean. The air conditioning/heating unit was located in the bedroom area, which posed a problem cooling the rest of the suite. Unless you kept the door to the sleeping area open, the rest of the suite became quite warm. Other than that, very nice. Breakfast was excellent and well-attended by staff. Plenty of choices, and as another reviewer wrote, they had a pancake machine! Plenty of parking available (free) surrounding the hotel. The location is close to a couple of big box stores and fast food restaurants. We will definitely chose this hotel again when staying in Bad Axe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gjwoodsjr
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding. Here I am reading some of the prior comments and wonder if these folks were actually stating in the same hotel I was. From the minute we got there we were greeted pleasantly and checking into the room took a few minutes. After we got up to the room about a half hour later a housekeeper knocked on the door and asked if everything was okay and if we needed anything. No she didn't barge in either. To be honest I did not expect this to be a really nice hotel just because of its location. The room was a nice size and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast had scrambled eggs, french toast, biscuits and gravy, place a pancake machine. This is the first time I had seen this type of pancake machine where you hit a button, put your plate at the other end an after a few minutes 2 pancakes drop out. They were pretty good too. We used the pool and hot tub which was nice after a long drive. All in all I would stay there again if I was to go back to that area.

Just to make it clear, every time we walked by the desk the staff would say hi unless they were waiting on someone, nor would I think of anyone there stating ti someone that they were not welcome back, but hey you always have the complainers. Guess they are looking for a freebie.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjwoodsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Axe
0.4 mi away
Ameriway Inn and Suites
Ameriway Inn and Suites
#1 of 4 in Bad Axe
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
16.0 mi away
Lakeside Motor Lodge
Lakeside Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Port Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 22 reviews
15.8 mi away
Blue Spruce & Lucky Horseshoe Motel & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe

Address: 55 Rapson Lane West, Bad Axe, MI 48413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Bad Axe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bad Axe is an exceptional facility from its beautiful decor, to its outstanding level of service. We are conveniently located in the Thumb of Michigan, just 20 miles from Lake Huron. Inside our hotel you will find spacious guest rooms all equipped with hairdryers, iron and boards, coffee makers and remote control TV. 2 phone with 2 lines and data port. Our Queen Suites include microwaves, refrigerators and comfortable lounging area. We also have Jacuzzi Suites that have the Jacuzzi in the bedroom with a king size bed and all the amenities that our queen suites have. Visit our indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center and game room. Don't forget to try our continental breakfast, every morning from 6:00 am till 10:00am. Visit Bad Axe, MI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Credit card is required for stay. Cash payments are accepted upon checkout with prior authorization of a credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe Hotel Bad Axe
Holiday Inn Bad Axe
Bad Axe Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing