We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Rapson Lane West, Bad Axe, MI 48413   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Sand Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not too bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding (booked the group rate), room wasn't ready on time (it was about 30 minutes late, which wasn't a huge deal) but one of the housekeepers barged in on our room to "make sure our room was ready!" We were not thrilled about that, but it is what it is. The room itself was just "ok", nothing special, but it was quiet and seemed clean, so it served it's purpose. Nothing terrible by any means. But nothing spectacular either.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear melaniejean13,

Thank you for staying with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused.

Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason we will follow up with the Executive Housekeeper. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    7
    7
    14
See reviews for
18
8
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Awful service...dirty room and Gary is just what everyone else said. I have NEVER gone to a hotel and had to clean my own room!! Botjlh nights same issues. I complained abourlt the filth...i get told by Gary I am no longer welcome there!!! Fine by me!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear vickie1027,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the room accommodations you had and the service you encountered affected your stay negatively. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are hosting a wedding in the Thumb, do yourself and your guests a favor and avoid this hotel at all costs... Have them stay at the Franklin Inn. Without beleaguering you with our disappointingly poor experience, I will touch on the problems we had.

There is zero organization and accountability at this hotel - no coordination, email communication, customer service, etc. For example, without notice, 3 weeks prior to the date, all remaining open rooms on our wedding-block were released. Half our guests still had not made reservations and were fighting for space.

They were mainly fighting with the GM, Gary, who would not honor the block rate, was now charging double, and required a 2 night minimum. Gary openly argued at the front desk with several of our guests who, without warning, were charged 2 nights instead of 1. Because there is no accountability or communication, when you call (there is no other way to book) you rely on them for accuracy. Upon checkout, Gary disagreed with several of our guests who booked for 1 night at the block rate and charged them for 2. Gary felt entitled to do this because of the limited options in Bad Axe, the festival taking place the same weekend, and because it was his word against ours.

Before the ceremony and during the reception, I was on the phone with the hotel to try and fix the nearly dozen issues we were facing... 2 people actually had to stay in the conference room on cots (after pleading with the hotel).

The most disheartening part - when my bride checked into our room the morning of the wedding (which by the way was not comped) and kindly asked Gary to fix the issues, he threatened to kick her out of her room. "Maybe this isn't the hotel for you"... As if to say, too bad, it's last minute and take it or leave it.

Do yourself a favor... Stay somewhere else.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Ryan C,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Bad Axe.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapids
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you don't come in contact with the owner, Gary, your stay will probably be okay. Not only was he rude to myself, but I observed him in arguments with other guests in the lobby during my stay. Its sad that he can get away with acting that way. I grew up in Bad Axe, and it makes me so sad to think that he is setting an example for the community. I don't think he cares if he is rude because there aren't many options and they book up fast. Its like he's running a monopoly and is holding all the cards... he is the owner in a small town that has a limited number of lodging options. He's not afraid to threaten you in terms of releasing your room if you aren't agreeable. It sounds like the area hotels are often full on weekends and he's not afraid to use that card against you if there is a disagreement. Such a crooked businessman. I scanned through the other reviews and was not surprised to see his name mentioned. It makes me so sick to think that he is acting so rude and still making a lot of money every weekend because of the demand for rooms. He basically says, if you don't like it leave. So ungrateful for anyones business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Erica c,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel was a good value in comparison to some of the privately owned hotels in the area that charge the same price $95/night and don't offer the same amenities. The beds were very comfortable, working AC, complimentary breakfast included, and great pools.

Only negative was the customer service. Aside from the lovely woman who was working the breakfast buffet, the front desk staff seemed very stiff and borderline rude. I walked up to check in and the manager was working on something else and it took him about 2 minutes to even look up and acknowledge me at the counter (he was standing right in front of me).

I would recommend a refresher course in providing pleasant customer service.

Would definitely book this hotel again based on everything else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I experienced the absolute worst customer service I ever have in my life during my recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Bad Axe, MI. A large group of my friends were in town for a friend’s wedding and a group of rooms had been blocked off at this hotel. I made a reservation for my room well in advance for Saturday night and was quoted a total of $84.50 for my one night stay. Upon arrival on Saturday, I was informed that I had booked a two-night reservation (Friday and Saturday) and that I was marked as a “no show” for Friday night. The manger of the hotel, Gary Malchow, told me that as a “compromise,” he would only charge me 50% of the cost for the room on Friday night. I was a little shocked to hear this, considering the fact that I never made the reservation in the first place!

After meeting up with our other friends at their rooms (also at the same hotel), we found out that we were not the only ones having problems with our reservation. One couple had the same problem that we had (booked for two nights when they had only reserved one night) and had their room given away; another couple was told they could only stay in the wedding block if they booked a two-night stay (completely ridiculous); and another friend was overcharged and was not given the wedding block discounted rate. We were appalled at the fact that not only had we all had issues with our rooms, but we had all experienced the same terrible guest service from Gary. We felt that he handled our individual situations poorly and was uncooperative and disrespectful. We later found out that the bride herself had confronted him about a pricing error for yet ANOTHER guest, and he had been so rude and unhelpful that when she tried to work out a solution, he told her “the conversation was over” and “maybe this was not the right hotel for her and her guests.”

The next day at checkout when my roommate and I talked to Gary about the mix-up, we explained that we did not think it was fair that we were going to be charged for a night that we did not reserve. Gary just stood there and repeatedly said “a two-night stay was booked and we no-showed on Friday.” He never once admitted that the mistake could have been his own fault and he never apologized or seemed to even care that we were upset. I am a manager myself at a large corporation and our number one goal is to make the customer happy, and we will do whatever it takes to achieve that. Gary seemed to care less about how we felt and when my roommate tried to get in touch with his superior, he told me that she needed to get off the phone and that he was “ending the situation” and was not taking the extra charge off our bill. In other words, he told us to leave.

I am still shocked about how this entire situation was handled and how Gary treated my friends, the bride and groom, and myself. He was rude to everyone, showed no sympathy, and I honestly got the impression that he was just trying to take our money. Unrelated to our reservation issues, the hallways in the hotel reeked of marijuana (which lingered into the lobby), and the man staying in the room across from us said that his room had a strong moldy odor to it. I think that this Holiday Inn Express should be shut down or new management should be hired immediately, because it is truly a disgrace to the Holiday Inn chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Krista B,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, MI. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

From the moment my husband and I entered into hotel, we were greeted with friendly faces. We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and didn't have a clue as to which restaurant to go to. They told us of a restaurant called, The Farm, giving us a map and even going as far as calling them to let them know we needed a reservation. It was absolutely the perfect place for us... great food and atmosphere. The pool and whirlpool were enjoyable, and the hot breakfast was superb. I'd definitely go back if ever I visited the thumb area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe

Address: 55 Rapson Lane West, Bad Axe, MI 48413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Bad Axe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bad Axe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bad Axe is an exceptional facility from its beautiful decor, to its outstanding level of service. We are conveniently located in the Thumb of Michigan, just 20 miles from Lake Huron. Inside our hotel you will find spacious guest rooms all equipped with hairdryers, iron and boards, coffee makers and remote control TV. 2 phone with 2 lines and data port. Our Queen Suites include microwaves, refrigerators and comfortable lounging area. We also have Jacuzzi Suites that have the Jacuzzi in the bedroom with a king size bed and all the amenities that our queen suites have. Visit our indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center and game room. Don't forget to try our continental breakfast, every morning from 6:00 am till 10:00am. Visit Bad Axe, MI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Credit card is required for stay. Cash payments are accepted upon checkout with prior authorization of a credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe Hotel Bad Axe
Holiday Inn Bad Axe
Bad Axe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.