We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and underwhelmed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hallet's

Hallet's
139 Main St., (Rte. 6A), Yarmouth Port, MA 02675
508/362-3362
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Specialty Shops, Cultural
Attraction details
Brooklyn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Hallets makes a big show of being just like an old-timey general store, but it's a racket, I assure you.
When I walked in the first thing I noticed was the insane amount of signage warning about "No Bathrooms" so... don't even think about it. We wanted ice cream, and apparently it's all homemade, but they don't give tastes so choose wisely. Two cones, one small, one medium, came to $7 (I perused the whole menu - prices were insane!) and the ice cream itself was grainy and flavorless, served in a store-bought sugar cone. The girl behind the counter actually touched the ice cream - it was pretty gross. I can't believe I even tried it. There's plenty of places for ice cream on 6A, because this one isn't it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    1
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Olde Time Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Amazing home made ice cream to inexpensive sandwiches such as the best grilled cheese and chicken salad along with home made meatballs. Stop here and get some food for the beach!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“yuck!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

looks are so deceiving with this one!! what looks like a quaint antique ice creamery is just a gross tourist trap rip off!! I'm still trying to figure out how I paid ALMOST $7 for an "ok" big glop of ice cream on a tiny sugar cone - this was their 2 scooper!! and when I had asked for a taste, they said they don't do tastes (!!!) - and when I had considered a sundae, they had whipped cream FROM A CAN (I can whip up some fresh whipped cream in 2 minutes!!) - take a few pics of the old fashion look of the place, and then run somewhere else!!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Quick great stop for sandwiches and malts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were greeted with a friendly greeting by the owner, our sandwiches came out fast. My husband said it was the best chocolate malt he has ever had. It is a cute historical small shop! We are so happy we stopped!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quality ice cream.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Local ice cream and sandwich shop. Best ice cream I had in a long time. You could tell it was made in the morning and it was extremely fresh. It also has the old fashion charm of the apothecary shops.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallet's also viewed

 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Hallet's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallet's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.