We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some nice changes. some not so nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Assisi

Cafe Assisi
667 South St, Ste 5, Wrentham, MA 02093-2124
508-384-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Wrentham
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
ri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Some nice changes. some not so nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Recently met friends there to catch up. they have expanded the place since I have last been. The new dinig room is pretty, but still loud..a little difficult to talk casually. They no longer have a full bar, just beer and wine, which was a little dissapointing. 3 of us had the specials, a stuffed swordfish and a seafood risotto. The swordfish was excellent. The risotto lacked flavor and although it had quite a bit of seafood in it, seemed more like plain rice than the nice risotto we were expecting. I would stick to their Italian dishes the next time. Make sure you call ahead or make a reservation if going at a busy time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    34
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Local gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Consistent, very good Italian food is the reason to go here. It's small and it's often busy but the atmosphere is friendly and the food and portions match many places in the North End.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

After shopping at the Outlets we searched Tripadvisor for a nearby restaurant. Cafe Assisi was close and had good reviews. We were not disappointed at all. Luckily we were able to be seated immediately. The waitstaff were great, courteous and professional. But the food.......That was outstanding. My husband had a Veal Cacciatore and loved it. I had Chicken Scarpiello which was absolutely fantastic. The place soon filled up and there was waiting at the door. The noise level is high but it was worth it. I would definitely go back. In fact, I would go back without going to the Outlets in Wrentham. If you have a chance, do go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
517 reviews 517 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
546 helpful votes 546 helpful votes
“Good Food, Hectic Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The food is good, the servers have a good attitude and are efficient, and the prices are reasonable. There are 2 rooms, the one to the right that has the open kitchen on the side that makes for a lot of action as the waitstaff tries to navigate pickups in the narrow aisle that abuts some of the tables. The other small room has a small bar with about 7 barstools and more tables for dining. In both rooms tables are close.

Since the place is so busy, noise is a factor. It's loud and bustling in both rooms. Not particularly my way to dine. That said, the food is very good to excellent... and anything with their fantastic red sauce is recommended... especially liked the lasagna served with 2 meatballs on the side.

Takeout may be the way to go if you don't want to endure the hectic atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best freshly pre-paired Italian food I have had in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The realtor that sold us our house when we moved to Wrentham many years ago told us the best Italian food around was at Assisi. It's a great find. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Assisi also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Assisi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.