We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Assisi

Cafe Assisi
667 South St, Ste 5, Wrentham, MA 02093-2124
508-384-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Wrentham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Local gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Consistent, very good Italian food is the reason to go here. It's small and it's often busy but the atmosphere is friendly and the food and portions match many places in the North End.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    38
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

After shopping at the Outlets we searched Tripadvisor for a nearby restaurant. Cafe Assisi was close and had good reviews. We were not disappointed at all. Luckily we were able to be seated immediately. The waitstaff were great, courteous and professional. But the food.......That was outstanding. My husband had a Veal Cacciatore and loved it. I had Chicken Scarpiello which was absolutely fantastic. The place soon filled up and there was waiting at the door. The noise level is high but it was worth it. I would definitely go back. In fact, I would go back without going to the Outlets in Wrentham. If you have a chance, do go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
651 reviews 651 reviews
466 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
636 helpful votes 636 helpful votes
“Good Food, Hectic Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The food is good, the servers have a good attitude and are efficient, and the prices are reasonable. There are 2 rooms, the one to the right that has the open kitchen on the side that makes for a lot of action as the waitstaff tries to navigate pickups in the narrow aisle that abuts some of the tables. The other small room has a small bar with about 7 barstools and more tables for dining. In both rooms tables are close.

Since the place is so busy, noise is a factor. It's loud and bustling in both rooms. Not particularly my way to dine. That said, the food is very good to excellent... and anything with their fantastic red sauce is recommended... especially liked the lasagna served with 2 meatballs on the side.

Takeout may be the way to go if you don't want to endure the hectic atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best freshly pre-paired Italian food I have had in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The realtor that sold us our house when we moved to Wrentham many years ago told us the best Italian food around was at Assisi. It's a great find. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A small piece of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This restaurant is fantastic. It has recently expanded to add some more tables which was desperately needed my only complaint about this place had previously been that you had to sit elbow to elbow with other patrons but now it looks like they have rectified this problem two thumbs up!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Assisi also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Assisi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.