We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great breakfast, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James' Breakfast and More

James' Breakfast and More
850 Franklin Street, Wrentham, MA 02762 (Formerly James' Roadside Cafe)
508-384-0017
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 restaurants in Wrentham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Bermuda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great staff, great breakfast, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Passed by the place many times and never went in. My sister lives down the road, on the same street, and never went in. I guess a little unassuming from the outside. Feel bad we missed so many opportunities to eat there now as we found it was excellent. Good size parking, easy access, extremely friendly staff and the breakfast was awesome. Tried a little of everything, eggs, pancakes, steak tips, fresh fruit, - all great. coffee pretty good. My wife got the gluten free bread and thought it was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    19
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth driving to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Finally - a breakfast/brunch place that serves really delicious coffee! It's hard to get breakfast wrong, but it seems so many places do; not James's though. Tasty egg dishes, delicious hearty breads, ultra fresh fruit, yummy pancakes and syrup -- and delicious full-flavored coffee served in a full-size mug. Attentive, friendly service and a nice, contemporary decore elevates the experience from a more typical greasy-spoon -- yet still very affordable. Worth switching things up and driving a few minutes further than your local diner next weekend -- and the buttermilk biscuits are to die for!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“look forward to going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Loved my sandwich. menu is great and everything sounds good. Look forward to going back for breakfast. Worth the trip. Staff was super friendly too

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great local breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I almost felt like I was dining in Boston's South End when I recently ate breakfast at James' Roadside. What a refreshing change from the traditional diners and restaurants in the area! Inviting décor, real maple syrup, and the most delicious fresh fruit topped pancakes I've ever eaten. The home fries, cooked up with fresh onions and peppers, are also to die for. Everything at James' is a la carte, but, truthfully, the total bill was similar to what you'd get at other area eateries. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome sandwiches, friendly environment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This local gem is located on Rte 140 between Wrentham and Franklin. If you like a good, hearty cup of coffee and a sandwich that leaves you happy, this place is worth the drive! I had the turkey club on gluten-free bread which was THE best I've had in my 50+ years! My husband had the ruben on hearty marbled rye which was grilled to perfection. He also tried the roasted tomato soup and had orange cake for dessert. Did I mention the hand-cut fries? Goodness all around. The staff was welcoming and friendly. We can't wait to try brunch! Open from 7-2 daily (closed Tuesday) they serve breakfast all day and plus beer and wine after 11am! Just go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James' Breakfast and More also viewed

 

Been to James' Breakfast and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James' Breakfast and More, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.