We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Venue for a Bridal Shower!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proctor Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Proctor Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Proctor Mansion Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Common Street, Wrentham, MA 02093   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrentham B&B and Inns
Marlborough, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Venue for a Bridal Shower!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had the pleasure of hosting a bridal shower at the Proctor Mansion Inn this past weekend. All of the guests raved about the event! The decor, the service and the food was superb. Many guests said it was the best shower they had ever attended. Cathy and Chef Paul were delightful to work with. They made all of the planning very easy and they attended to every detail so that I and my co-hostess could enjoy the party along with our guests. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Proctor Mansion Inn to anyone looking to host a memorable event!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here over Valentines Day weekend & truly enjoyed our visit. The house is quite beautiful, w/ original architectural & decorative details. We stayed in the Aqua room which was warm & clean with a jacuzzi tub in the private bath. Brian, the owner, cleaned & shoveled out our car after a snow storm & also gave us a fascinating explanation of the history of the home and the work they've done to it. Anna & Christine provided fantastic and friendly service and great food. If you enjoy history & the aesthetic of the Victorian period, you will be quite pleased with these accommodations.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I recently had a memorial reception for a dear friend at the Proctor Mansion. The owners Kathy and Brian handled everything for me because I was 3000 miles away. The reception, the food and the Inn was a wonderful place for family and friends to gather after the church services. I thank you so much for your professionalism and now your friendship. Best wishes for your continued success.
Sincerely,
Paul Marcelino
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Beautiful, comfortable accommodations. Friendly, gracious hosts. Reasonable rates. I stayed there for a week and wish it had been longer. The house, itself, has a fascinating history and beautiful, decorative details.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Highly recommended visit.
I've lived in the area more than 50 years, my family has lived in Wrentham for 20 years. I agree with all the positive reviews here about Wrentham being great, shopping nearby is fantastic - the stadium etc...

And I agree with all the reviews of the Mansion itself. It's rough around the edges - maybe a little more paint on the outside and a few gutters need a little work. And work continues on a few rooms inside. But - it's more than a mansion, it's a glorious tribute to an earlier age and a great experience to be there. They seems to have taken great care to be sensitive to original work. Might be easy to paint over certain things - but when there's old gold leaf, or murals on walls and ceilings, I'd rather see it as it's aged and not some new facsimile of an old work.

Get a little tour - see the widow's watch on the top floor, experience how the house itself is very distinct from the owners side from where the servants lived (floors are different, etc...). There's a red window where they say they left a light burning as part of the underground railroad to serve escaped slaves from the south. True or not - it really feels like you're touching a bit of history here.

Owners, awesome, breakfast excellent, ambience the best. There's a little tv tucked in a corner of your room, but if you were expecting a big screen tv and surround sound then you're in the wrong place.

Give it a try!

Room Tip: We got there and the place was empty so we toured each room. they all look unique and awesome. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Wrentham is a delightful little town, full of period buildings, and Proctor Mansion Inn is a beautifully restored Victorian home, set up as a B & B. The rooms are large and airy, full of antique furniture and fittings, including huge beds. We had a very comfortable night's sleep as it is so quiet, despite a Christmas concert with guests going on downstairs until quite late. My only criticism is that there could have been more choice at breakfast, rather than giving us something we necessarily may not have wanted. The staff were very friendly and helpful and assisted us with our needs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Our one-night stay included a fabulous gourmet prepared dinner and a very clean, comfortable queen-sized bed. Though I had some difficulty climbing the stairs to the second floor, it was quickly suggested to serve the gourmet dinner on the second floor. The Staff had somehow managed to setup an intimate space for the dinner just outside our room

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Proctor Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proctor Mansion Inn

Address: 36 Common Street, Wrentham, MA 02093
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Wrentham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrentham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Proctor Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to step back in time to experience a taste of yesterday at The Proctor Mansion Inn. Built in 1861, The Proctor Mansion Inn is a striking example of Second Empire French Victorian architecture. Amazingly preserved and lovingly restored, it provides a glimpse of grandeur from days gone by.The Proctor Mansion Inn is set within a picturesque new England town midway between Boston and Providence. Each room in the Proctor Mansion Inn is different with original frescos, wood work and architectural features.  All of the rooms are uniquely decorated including period antiques and local original artwork. The Proctor Mansion Inn is extremely ornate and is one of only 7 in the United States of this Victorian style with the original interior intact. Enjoy the sweeping stair case, 14’ painted ceilings and the original servants bells still hanging! We are an Eco-Friendly Inn. It is our pleasure to server Organic, local and natural foods in our Signature Extended Continental Breakfast included in with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Proctor Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proctor Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.