We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother's Day Tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Proctor Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Proctor Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Proctor Mansion Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Common Street, Wrentham, MA 02093   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Wrentham B&B and Inns
Foxboro, Massachusetts
1 review
“Mother's Day Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Proctor Mansion has teas throughout the year. Be forewarned, you will not need dinner afterward. Tea started promptly at 3:00 with a mimosa followed by scones and tea. They serve their own version of Devonshire cream which is lighter and very good. There was a nice assortment of teas including some "new age" teas like rooibos. That's not how I roll. I'm an old fashioned Earl Grey girl. The scones were followed by an assortment of sandwiches. I especially enjoyed one with asian pear and pistachios. There were young people in attendance who were suspicious of the sandwiches and they were offered p.b. & j. and Nutella. One girl even frowned on the Nutella! That's a tough customer! The tea concluded with brownies, lemon squares and chocolate covered strawberries. The owner offered a tour. The mansion itself is full of beautiful details such as hand painted ceiling decorations and ingenious pocket shutters. It is not on the scale of the mansions of Newport. This was clearly a family home, but it is still quite a showpiece. The upper floor which was the servant's quarters is in the process of being restored and that was very interesting to see. If you are interested in the restoration of old homes or Victorian architecture or furniture, it would be a great place to stay. I live nearby, so, unless I'm having my floors refinished, I probably won't be back to stay, but definitely back for tea. For those who don't know the area, Wrentham is a very small quiet town, but there is a huge outlet mall on the edge of the town, great places for apple picking, several antique stores and is very close to Gillette Stadium and Patriot's Place. Patriot's Place has the Patriots Museum, CBS Scene, great restaurants and stores like Bass. There's a lot to do in this area. It takes about 40 minutes to get into Boston and about 30 minutes to get into Providence which is a nice little city with many architectural gems.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
37
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a friends & family reception for our son and daughter-in-law recently. Everything was perfect! The event went without a hitch!
From the planning through the entire event the staff and owners were very attentive and helpful. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. Due to their help in planning and the wonderful work of the caterer, we had such a memorable day! The Mansion is a great venue to host such an event. We had plenty of room for all our guests and many have contacted us to comment on how wonderful everything was.
Thank you to The Proctor Mansion Inn for helping us make this a very memorable event for our happy couple!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We recently held a wedding reception at the Inn for a group of about 70 family members and friends. Cathy [Innkeeper], Brian [owner] and Dawn [owner] were present at the event to ensure that all went smoothly. And it did. Prior to the event, we met with Cathy several times to plan and review the event details. Cathy was a delight and provided meaningful suggestions to ensure that the event was well executed.

Although the Inn is currently being slowly restored to its former glory, the existing imperfections did not detract from the ambiance.

Russell Morin's Catering provided the service for the event and they were superb. Great food, staff and management.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Joan and Tabitha were sweet, informative, and just simply a joy to meet. The house is beautiful and we are excited about returning some day! We love the historic value it holds :) the place was kept perfectly clean and neat :) we loved finding sweets and treats tucked everywhere :0) the food was delish!! Thank you so much for a fantastic stay!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hubby and I spent the my birthday night here while visiting family in the area. We were enchanted by the Inn, and thrilled with Joan, the manager. She took the time to give us the "soup to nuts" tour of this beautiful home built in 1861. With six rooms available for immediate occupancy, two more on the third floor are now being lovingly restored. Our room was comfortable, the breakfast generous and delicious, and the tour unforgettable. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our short stay, We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The Queen and King rooms on the second floor are gorgeous, and the staircase wide enough to tote you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord, ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here two nights. The mansion is archtecturally stunning and beautifully appointed. Wonderfully restored while still a work in progress.. Many unique architectural features. Make sure you climb up to the fourth floor cupola for the view.. Joan and Tabitha were more than happy to show us around and tell us the history in an informative an cheerfull manner..Breakfast and coolkies were delicous.. We hope to go back again sometime..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A group of us recently had high tea at The Proctor Mansion Inn and it was a lovely experience. The tea itself was delightful. After the tea, a friend and I started to explore the mansion when one of the staff (Shirley Nolin) approached us and offered to provide a tour. Shirley was so knowledgeable and could not have been nicer or more generous with her time. She told us so many interesting "tidbits". When we got to the third floor we met another staff person (Cathy) who was also full of very interesting information. These very personable ladies provided such a wonderful tour of this hisoric victorian landmark. It really made the day quite special. The Proctor Mansion Inn is most worthy of a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Proctor Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proctor Mansion Inn

Address: 36 Common Street, Wrentham, MA 02093
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Wrentham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wrentham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Proctor Mansion Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to step back in time to experience a taste of yesterday at The Proctor Mansion Inn. Built in 1861, The Proctor Mansion Inn is a striking example of Second Empire French Victorian architecture. Amazingly preserved and lovingly restored, it provides a glimpse of grandeur from days gone by.The Proctor Mansion Inn is set within a picturesque new England town midway between Boston and Providence. Each room in the Proctor Mansion Inn is different with original frescos, wood work and architectural features.  All of the rooms are uniquely decorated including period antiques and local original artwork. The Proctor Mansion Inn is extremely ornate and is one of only 7 in the United States of this Victorian style with the original interior intact. Enjoy the sweeping stair case, 14’ painted ceilings and the original servants bells still hanging! We are an Eco-Friendly Inn. It is our pleasure to server Organic, local and natural foods in our Signature Extended Continental Breakfast included in with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Proctor Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proctor Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.