We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistant preparations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Bene Ristorante

Viva Bene Ristorante
144 Commercial St, Worcester, MA 01608
(508) 799-9999
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Viva Bene Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #279 of 517 Restaurants in Worcester
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Rutland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Inconsistant preparations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Overall, I do agree with past reviews that criticized the food at Viva Bene, like too salty,
salads over-dressed, metallic tasting tomato sauce etc.. We finally went on a Tuesday in Oct. 2012, using our Groupon. Out of 4 people, I was the only one with a well-done dish, which happened to be a special with pasta and seafood. The tomato-Vodka sauce was tasty, the scallops,shrimp, and swordfish were tender, fresh and not overdone. My Caesar's Salad was very lightly dressed, a plus for me, tasty and crispy. More galic and lemon would have been nice, but that's my own personal taste. Our waiter was very pleasant. While commenting on the
mispellings in the menu and on thier website, the waiter told me that the owners are NOT Italian,
but Persian. Maybe explains the mispellings and Not-So-Good Italian dishes. My wifes "first" soup was so salty that she sent it back in exchange for the Minestrone Soup, not as bad. Her eggplant was extremely oily, yet the Veal was tender. Needless to say, she left behind all the eggplant.
The Chicken Parmesan was also disappointing for the other 2 members of our party. Chicken was overcooked and the tomato sauce was again, metallic and bitter.
Service was prompt, waiter enjoyable, atmosphere very pleasant. Improve some of the food
preparations and quality, and you've got a nice place to dine at.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    5
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Prices for lunch are good, the service is decent, but I found the place sort of dirty. The wall next to our booth was dirty and scuffed up, one of our glasses had a dried piece of pasta attached to it. The server picked up the water glass and filled it, dirty. With the Sole Proprietor being only a short drive from here and similarly priced for lunch, I will not be back at Viva.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

I'm really surprised to see the bad reviews this place has gotten! We were a party of 7 that visited on May 12, 2012 after the WSU graduation and this place was very busy. When we first arrived they did not have a table big enough for all of us to sit together, so we sat at different booths. As soon as a table big enough to accommodate us opened up, they moved us without any problems. Numerous wait staff/busboys were walking around monitoring all tables, keeping glasses filled, ensuring everyone had bread, etc. Food was excellent!! A bit pricey, but portions and quality of food was worth it. I had the veal-eggplant carbino and it melted in your mouth. We were all satisified and enjoyed our dining experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, lousy service, high noise level, too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Four of us arrived for a reserved table at 530 pm prior to a theater performance. Despite the early hour, there were a lot of people there, and it was quite noisy, with a lot of people talking loudly. This was a problem as one of our party could not hear anything we said. After we ordered, food was very slow to arrive, and we had to remind them that we had ordered wine. The menu was extremely limited, very few selections, and all of them were the standard Italian restaurant fare. It was quite pricey, also, all entrees were $20 and up. Food was OK, but would have been better at home. Service was very poor and distracted. They can blame this on the fact that there was a concert at 730 next door, but since they are literally across the street from the concert venue, one would think they would have this problem figured out by now. Will not be going back to this place anytime soon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't go before a concert...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

I went here before the Lady Antebellum concert last night. I was very disappointed. The service was very slow (nearly non-existent), the food was mediocre, and the price was exorbitant ($33 for Chicken Picatta and a glass of wine). The party at the adjacent table (seated at my elbow) didn't receive the menu items they ordered. They were also attending the concert and were not pleased that the service was so slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva Bene Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Viva Bene Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Bene Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.