We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, miserable staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Worcester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Worcester to your Saves list
Residence Inn Worcester
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   503 Plantation Street, Worcester, MA 01605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, miserable staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Being a Merriott frequent flyer and needing a place near the hospital for a few days I chose this Residence Inn. Checked in on a Sunday afternoon, appeared my check in was interrupting a staff meeting- sorry folks. Nicely laid out room on the top floor with an exceedlingly loud heater inches from the bed. Workout room- adequate but really hot and no way to change the temp. Pool looked really murky and unappealing. Front desk unattended the 4 times I walked by. There was someone standing outside watching me lug my luggage, not sure if he worked there, if he did, would have been nice if he could have gotten the door for me.
Breakfast the next morning was nice, the attendant was just this side of surly. Could not get a good morning out of her, made me feel like I was imposing. Again, front desk unattended.
Monday evening munchies- taco salad or nachos? Same attendant that was on in the morning, starting to understand her surliness, she probably has a heavy workload- breakfast, snacky time. that's a lot of work.
Tuesday morning, finally a good morning from the woman at the front desk! Restored my faith in Marriott!
Pros:
Nicely laid out and equipped rooms
Kitchenettes stocked nicely
If you are staying for a few days, they will grocery shop for you.
Breakfast included (yogurt cups, fresh fruit as well as

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    67
    19
    3
    1
See reviews for
72
36
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just loved it! For the same price as a regular hotel room elsewhere we had a modern, 1 BR suite with a king bed and separate living area with another TV, couch, chair, table, fully stocked kitchen and desk. The rooms are modern and bright and comfortable. Hotel lobby is comfortable -- has a pool table and space to hang out. Free wifi that worked. Breakfast bar had everything - eggs, sausage, yogurt, cereal, muffins, toast -- anything we wanted. We got in late and ordered a pizza, but for longer stays the hotel has a complimentary evening social hour where they serve dinner. We weren't there long enough to take advantage of the hotel's other amenities like the workout room, social hour, or pool but I plan on frequenting this hotel every time I am in the area. Also a great option for larger families as I believe the couch pulls out and there is a lot of space!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It's a fairy large hotel, I think, but it was very quiet and spacious, very nicely decorated, with a larger-than-usual sitting area, kitchen and dining table, two windows, large TV, large bathroom. Large breakfast with many choices, nice seating area for eating. I was very pleased.

Room Tip: As always, ask for a room away from the elevators and ice machines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

In Worcester over the Easter holiday weekend to visit family. Spent 2 nights at the Residence Inn. It was effortless and pleasant. A one bedroom suite with a nice sitting area, comfortable bed, very clean.

Breakfast was crowded, but better than average for a free buffet. There was a nice bar in the lobby that was surprisingly crowded but well run. May have just been the holiday crowd.

Service was courteous across the board, very friendly staff.

It used to be tough to find a decent hotel in Worcester. No longer - this one is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of days, it was not the best Residence Inn I have stayed in but it covered all the bases for sure. On the plus it was very clean and spacious, great great location. Very central and safe.
The staff didnt seem happy... especially the breakfast room staff, I really kinda felt bad for the lady there...
The guy at reception was very helpful but didnt give info about the hotel. I had to stumble on that and probe for the info.
I would for sure, go back again because of the location and the cleanliness and spaciousness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent one night here while visiting family in Worcester, and found the experience to be most pleasant. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and the room/suite was very comfortable. It had a kitchen, with stove, full refrigerator, 2 burner stove, microwave, and dishwasher. The only thing missing was a conventional oven. There were enough dishes for four (though for some reason, only one spoon), a coffee maker, and even microwave popcorn. The living room/dining area contained a sleeper/sofa and dining table, as well as a large flat-screen TV which could also be turned to face the bed. The bed and bedding were very comfortable, and we were given a choice of pillows. The bathroom vanity was separate from the tub/toilet area. The decor was very nice. The location was convenient to our destination. We would stay here again, and recommend it to family and friends. Great for the business traveler, too! Only negative comment is that the heater, which was near the bed, was a bit noisy. The full breakfast buffet was a huge plus, and included a self-service waffle maker with toppings to add, as well as healthy alternatives. The breakfast attendant was very helpful.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator, and were about as far away as possible, but it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Residence Inn Worcester, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We would like to take a moment to thank you for your recent stay at that the Residence Inn by Marriott in Worcester, MA and for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback and are very happy to see that you had a great stay with us and we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We do regular maintenance on all of our HVAC units and will make sure the unit is running properly. And yes there should have been silverware for as many as four in your room. The feedback is important and we do share all of our reviews with the entire Residence Inn Worcester team. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here over the holidays due to a crowded family house. Great decision.

Clean hotel. Pool. Workout room. Breakfast was decent. It was a great experience. It helped make the holidays even better. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian B, General Manager at Residence Inn Worcester, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent stay here at the Residence Inn by Marriott - Worcester, MA and for taking the time to fill out a review. I'm very happy that we exceeded your expecations during the busy holiday time. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Worcester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Worcester

Address: 503 Plantation Street, Worcester, MA 01605
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Worcester
#1 Business Hotel in Worcester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Worcester 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensure that your extended stay in Worcester, Massachusetts is the next best thing to being in your very own home. Pay a visit to the Residence Inn by Marriott Worcester and discover what brings guests back to us again and again. No matter where you want to go or what you want to see in and around Worcester, our central location makes us the ideal choice for executives, vacationing families and families visiting any of the colleges and universities in town. Perfectly located less than two miles from UMass Memorial Medical Center, our contemporary-style hotel offers effortless access to prestigious Worcester businesses, hospitals, and sports arenas including the DCU Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Worcester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Worcester Hotel Worcester
Worcester Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Worcester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.