We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Dogs! Get yer Hot Dogs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coney Island Lunch

Coney Island Lunch
158 Southbridge St, Worcester, MA 01608-2010
508-753-4362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 463 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Woodstock, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hot Dogs! Get yer Hot Dogs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Steeped in history as you go back in time to the 1930's with the wooden seating carved with initials, etc. from decades ago....adds to the aura. Long lines, good dogs, tasty chocolate milk!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    28
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Dogs & Chips - What's not to like?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A favorite of ours with a little kid. We go to Coneys on the weekends. Our son has a blast and we don't worry about ruining everyone else's dinner. It's big enough in there and casual enough in there where no one minds a little laughing. :-) Dogs are good. Our favorite is the chili dog. Yum! But price is also great. Really affordable meal for the 3 of us with easy parking. It's a must do on our list if you live out that way. My husband went to Holy Cross and spent many a dinner there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Love those gagers - all up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Past of Worcester's history, nothing fancy. Don't let the place scare you, it's dim & old looking, GREAT PLACE. Walk in, get in line order your wieny's, pick um up, go sit down & ENJOY. Wieners on a steamed bun, if you use their lingo, order 3 up = 3 wieny's, meat sauce, mustard & onion. You can have chocalate milk, soda, juice. Order the birch beer soda with your wieny's, OU, OU, Delicious. Always order 3, if you don't order 3, & only 2 same on you, you will be going back for 1 more

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A time machine of taste! Been eating here my entire life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

If I were to ever move away I don't know how I would live without Coney Island. When you walk in the awkward front door, you walk into a dimly lit space of hard old booths and no frills decor, you step back to when fake servers didn't sing on your birthday and there were no kids menus, back when you worked hard and wanted a quick cheap meal, and if the food wasn't good, you closed. The rough interior hides the miraculous pillowy, salty, sweet wonders that are Coney Island Hot Dogs, they are soo damn addictive, always the same order, three with mustard and onions and two "up" (with everything), a Snapple and a bag of chips, it's like home on a bun. Once you have one you will see, suddenly the decor becomes interesting, the atmosphere becomes timeless, you notice all the carved names and begin the hunt for the oldest graffiti. This place is a must stop for a beautiful day in Worcester, it warms up the winter, brightens a rainy day, tops off a summer day and becomes part of your life, ya just gotta go to Coney Island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Best hotdogs in this solar system”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good friends introduced me to this local food temple when I got to this city. Great hotdogs in a unique environment. A must see/taste for everybody who does not have blocked arteries (yet).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coney Island Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Coney Island Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coney Island Lunch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.