We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Higgins Armory is closed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Higgins Armory Museum - CLOSED

Higgins Armory Museum
100 Barber Avenue, Worcester, MA 01606-2444
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Higgins Armory Museum is the most extensive arms and armor collection in the Western Hemisphere. Constructed in 1930 by John Woodman Higgins to house his elaborate and eclectic collection of arms and armor, Higgins Armory Museum displays arms and armor ranging from ancient Greek Corinthian helmets to ornate suits of armor crafted at the height of the Renaissance. The artifacts are arranged gallantly in a spectacular two-story Medieval Great Hall arranged with more than 35 suits of armor and a stunning array of arms amidst tapestries, stained glass, and soaring ceilings. Demonstrations and programs bring to life arms and armor from around the world and across centuries.
Boston Ma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Higgins Armory is closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Higgins has closed due to the enormous cost to replace the aging custom windows with energy efficient ones. The collection has been moved to the Worcester Art Museum where it has been given a prominent display space. It is drawing a lot of young families to the Art Museum

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A day close to the end.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

While visiting the grandkids in Ct we made the short trip to the Higgins Armory Museum what a great place to spend the day. First I went to thank the young lady at the ticket booth after seeing my hat asked if I was a vet. which I am and then showed my I D and this made the price better for me. The only regret I have is I need more time to spend there. I will make it a point to visit the new location as soon as I can. Thanks for a great time. Even our grandchildren ages 6 and 9 enjoyed their selves.

Joe DuFort family Midland Mi.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenport iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We saw Higgins Armory on Ghost Hunters and when visiting family in Boston decided to drive out to Worcester to visit. This museum is well worth the drive! Kept us all entertained, 5 year old girl, 13 year old boy and mom too! What a delight!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New Hampshire, United States
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Changing, but promises to not be lost.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a situation of a person who developed a collection of stuff and then realized the need to allow it to continue to be viable. Mr. Higgins collected items, and allowed people to experience those items. But, what evolved was a vehicle by which people who studied the history of the evolution of warfare could share their love of history with the public. This place brings history to life and helps people to cut through the mystery to really understand the basics, takes away the fantasy and connects with the basics. Not just a place to observe "stuff", rather, this is a huge resource of how things evolved, and how warfare reacted to changes in technology. This is not just a resource for the History Channel but also a place where a person could actually be trained in Viking Combat techniques, or more recent use of weapons of the Renaissance, or similar times. The collection will continue under other management and I would hope that the spirit continues. None the less, stop in while it is open. Very focused on providing things for the children top appreciate, my suggestion is to check out presentations scheduled for the day, and then plan your visit around that schedule. Start on the 4th floor and then visit the 3rd floor. Be ready for crowds, and if in a group agree that you will all go along at your own pace, eventually meeting on the first floor. No food available, there is a beverage vending machine by the (now almost empty) museum store.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful way to spend a cold, rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I visited the Higgins Armory Museum one cold, rainy day this past summer and it was delightful. The displays were very nicely arranged and who knew there were so many different armor styles. There was a lot of great information and details. It was wonderful to see so many original historic pieces in tact and in very good shape. This would be a wonderful way to spend some time for people of all ages - and they have special programs for younger children that are interactive and keep the children interested in what is going on. Great program!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Higgins Armory Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Higgins Armory Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.