We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mechanics Hall

Mechanics Hall
321 Main Street, Worcester, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 54 things to do in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I have been there to see multiple events there. Clean and classy. They hold many types of events. Easy to get to in Worcester Ma

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First visit a charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I've lived in Worcester for years but never have I visited Mechanics Hall. I was fortunate to attend a brown bag concert of the Harvard Jazz Band. Delightful!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to hear a concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

They hold weekly free concerts on Wednesdays. They call them Brown Bag Lunches. Yes, you take you own lunch and sit and listen to a free concert.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Acoustics and Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Been there for several concerts including David Brubeck and the acoustics make it on of the best performance centers I have been to anywhere including some international venues. Even if you get to visit for an organ recital, the acoustics will make you realize just what gem this hall is and you will return. Avery Fisher performance center might offer more but, certainly not better acoustics. I can understand some concerns with regards to the balconies being steep and of dubious access physically challenged individuals. Even with that limitation, wait it out after the show, it gives one another chance to appreciate where you've been and what you have just heard.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Boylston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“amazing acoustics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hall is one the acoustically perfect venues in Mass. whether going to a concert or a function, you will enjoy the ambiance and the beautifully restored hall.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mechanics Hall also viewed

 

Been to Mechanics Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mechanics Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.